Profiles in Ignorance: How America's Politicians Got Dumb and Dumber

Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$28.99  $26.96
Publisher
Avid Reader Press / Simon & Schuster
Publish Date
Pages
320
Dimensions
5.82 X 8.66 X 1.05 inches | 1.04 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781668003886

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Andy Borowitz is an award-winning comedian and New York Times bestselling author. He grew up in Cleveland, Ohio, and graduated from Harvard College, where he became President of the Harvard Lampoon. In 1998, he began contributing humor to The New Yorker's "Shouts & Murmurs" and "Talk of the Town" departments, and in 2001, he created "The Borowitz Report," a satirical news column, which has millions of readers around the world. In 2012, The New Yorker began publishing "The Borowitz Report." As a storyteller, he hosted "Stories at the Moth" from 1999 to 2009. As a comedian, he has played to sold-out venues around the world, including during his national tour, "Make America Not Embarrassing Again," from 2018 to 2020. He is the first-ever winner of the National Press Club's humor award. He lives with his family in New Hampshire.
Reviews
"How did we slide into the abyss of liking our politicians to be--or to act--dumb rather than smart? In this funny but serious book, Andy Borowitz chronicles our embrace of anti-intellectualism." --Walter Isaacson, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Code Breaker

"This is one of these brilliant books that makes you laugh until you cry. Borowitz masterfully throws light (and shade) on the confederacy of dunces who have fumbled their way into power. His writing has never been smarter, sharper, or more necessary." --Susan Orlean, New York Times bestselling author of The Library Book

"A devastatingly funny takedown of a veritable Mount Rushmore of incompetents . . . In the hallowed tradition of Will Rogers, Mark Twain, H.L. Mencken, Ambrose Bierce, and other clear-eyed satirists, Borowitz skewers all manner of chronically befuddled, willfully ignorant dolts. . . . Ravaging this seemingly endless rogues' gallery of buffoonery and corruption, Borowitz marshals mind-boggling, breathtaking evidence. . . . While there are countless laughs in the book, they have a rueful edge given that we are all affected by such widespread ignorance." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Readers may laugh, cry, or swear under their breath (sometimes all at once) with this scathing survey of the seemingly increasing ignorance of American politicians. Borowitz, a writer of page and screen and satirist for The New Yorker, humorously examines the ever-increasing, lowering-of-the-bar expectations of presidential candidates' knowledge and beyond in this book that is perfect for fans of The Daily Show or John Lithgow's "Dumpty" series. . . . For readers who have ever looked at the political landscape and asked how or why, this is a book that will inform and infuriate." --Library Journal (starred review)

"Andy makes me laugh out loud, that's a given. In this book he has also made me think out loud. Profiles in Ignorance is hilarious, original, scary, prescient and a wake-up call for us all. A must read." --Susie Essman, HBO's Curb Your Enthusiasm

"[Borowitz] sheds light on the cultural and economic trends that gave intellectualism a bad name and identifies the political operatives . . . who facilitated the rise of ignorance. Fans of The Borowitz Report will gobble this up." --Publishers Weekly

"Is it better to laugh or cry at America's most profoundly stupid politicians? Why not both laugh and cry, as anyone will by reading this new book by Andy Borowitz. He is one of our sharpest satirists, as evidenced by his column The Borowitz Report, but he's wisely made this book nonfiction, skewering the dumbest of the dumb." --Air Mail

Praise for Andy Borowitz:

"We need a new emoji to signal the uniquely brilliant humor of Andy Borowitz: savage but gentle, hilarious but sad, thought-provoking but never hard to figure out, ironic but without cheap sarcasm, snarky but never cruel. He's a national treasure!" --Laurence Tribe, coauthor of To End a Presidency: The Power of Impeachment