Poster Girl: A Jane Benjamin Novel

Available
Product Details
Price
$17.95  $16.69
Publisher
She Writes Press
Publish Date
Pages
256
Dimensions
5.5 X 8.4 X 1.0 inches | 0.75 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781647425937

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Shelley Blanton-Stroud grew up in California's Central Valley, the daughter of Dust Bowl immigrants who made good on their ambition to get out of the field. She recently retired from teaching writing at Sacramento State University and still consults with writers in the energy industry. She serves as President of the Board of 916 Ink, an arts-based creative writing nonprofit for children, and serves on the Board of Advisors for the Gould Center for Humanistic Studies at Claremont McKenna College. She recently stepped down from codirecting Stories on Stage Sacramento, where actors perform the stories of established and emerging authors. She interviews mystery and thriller authors for the Mystery Review Crew. Copy Boy is her first Jane Benjamin Novel. Tomboy is her second. The third, Poster Girl, comes out in November 2023 (She Writes Press). Her writing has been a finalist in the Sarton Book Awards, IBPA Benjamin Franklin Awards, Killer Nashville's Silver Falchion Award, the American Fiction Awards, and the National Indie Excellence Awards. She and her husband live in Sacramento, surrounded by photos of their out-of-town sons, their wonderful partners, their very first grandchild, and a lifetime of beloved dogs.
Reviews
"Lively prose, enjoyably edgy dialogue, and a delightful, unconventional, feminist heroine add up to a captivating page-turner."
-Kirkus Reviews

"Fans of Tracy Chevalier and Kate Atkinson will love being immersed in the detail-driven historical atmosphere, while hard-boiled mystery fans will thoroughly enjoy being led by our whip-smart and street-savvy heroine through the maze of clues leading to a shocking final plot twist."
--Chicago Book Review, 5 stars

"Aficionados of historical fiction and the Jane Benjamin series will be delighted . . . The novel is an excellent read, with sympathetic characters and set in a place and time that leaps off the page."
--San Francisco Book Review, 5 stars

"Mirroring ongoing misogyny, racial discrimination, and economic challenges women continue to face today, Poster Girl takes readers behind the scenes to experience the toll exacted on women who dared to break molds in the 1940s. A five-star read. Highly recommended."
--Ashley E. Sweeney, author of Hardland, Answer Creek, and Eliza Waite

"A cracking plot, exquisite detail, and grand cast of characters."
--Catriona McPherson, author of In Place of Fear

"Jane Benjamin has come into her own in this third book of the series. A fast-paced story that had me turning pages long into the night. Highly recommend!"
--Michelle Cox, author of The Henrietta and Inspector Howard series

"A can't-put-it-down kind of book . . . every moment perfectly crafted to keep the reader turning pages to the gripping end."
--Laurie Buchanan, author of The Sean McPherson Series

"A high-wire, ripped-from-vintage-headlines series-ender."
--Gretchen Cherington, author of The Butcher, the Embezzler, and the Fall Guy

"A historically accurate, action-packed adventure, making WWII era intrigue and sexual and racial discrimination feel contemporary."
--Maren Cooper, author of Behind the Lies

"Casts an observant eye on the misogyny, racism, and classism of the time, allowing the reader to witness that not much has changed."
--Mary Camarillo, author of The Lockhart Women

"A page-turner that delivers a strong message for our time: we must take care of each other. I absolutely loved this novel."
--Debra Thomas, author of Luz

"Weaves challenging and timeless social issues into a story about people we grow to care about while maintaining tension and suspense--you won't put this one down."
--Anastasia Zeidek, author of Blurred Fates

Praise for Tomboy:

"A wonderful story full of nuance and character."
--Sheldon Siegel, NYT and USA Today best-selling author of the Mike Daley/Rosie Fernandez series

Praise for Copy Boy:

"Smart, lively, and suspenseful, this is Raymond Chandler for feminists."
--Sharma Shields, author of The Cassandra