Perris, California

Available
Product Details
Price
$29.00  $26.97
Publisher
Penguin Press
Publish Date
Pages
368
Dimensions
5.9 X 8.9 X 1.3 inches | 1.25 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780593656204
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Rachel Stark grew up in Perris, California. She received her bachelor's degree in creative writing from University of California, Riverside, and her master's degree in creative writing at University of California, Davis. She currently resides in southern Colorado where she writes, runs mountain trails, and teaches yoga.
Reviews
Advance praise for Perris, California

"An emotionally charged portrait of two women's painful family histories and their uneasy reunion in California's Inland Empire . . . Fans of Dorothy Allison or Pam Houston ought to seek this out." --Publishers Weekly

"An extraordinary debut that insists that we can--and must--mend each other." --Kirkus (starred review)

"Some stories grab you, shake you to the core, and never let you go, demanding you to stare into the heart of human depravity and resilience. Other stories capture you by stealth, quiet beauty unfolding in ordinary moments: a conversation 'round a table, the unexpected smile of a neighbor, the wind on your face as you run. Harrowing, evocative, and deeply moving, Perris, California does both. Rachel Stark reminds us that in the smallest acts of kindness center the most enormous acts of love. This is a remarkable novel of human beings fully being--where what we do to each other sits side by side with what we do for each other." --Sarah Blake, author of The Postmistress

"Perris, California is a remarkable, audacious, and truly original debut. Stark's characters are incandescent in their fierce desire not just for survival but for love and redemption. This novel will live alongside classics of young womanhood by Kaye Gibbons, Helena Maria Viramontes, Maya Angelou, and yes, Dorothy Allison." --Susan Straight, author of bestsellers Mecca and In the Country of Women

"Rachel Stark's beautiful debut novel is a gripping portrayal of generational trauma suffered by women living in rural poverty. But this heartbreaking story is ultimately one of healing and hope as she reminds us of our capacity for forgiveness and understanding." --Tracey Lange, author of We Are the Brennans

"Perris, California
is a glorious debut from the magnificent Rachel Stark who writes from the soul when she is not writing from the heart. This is a novel set in the invisible America, the land of hopes and dreams if one happens to be lucky. Tessa has bouts of luck and longing, amidst circumstances out of her control. This is not only a story of trauma and survival, it will rouse your deepest well of empathy and have you rooting for a woman you may have never met. You will know her now, in this dazzling debut." --Adriana Trigiani, bestselling author of The Good Left Undone