Paradise, WV

(Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$31.99  $29.75
Publisher
Keylight Books
Publish Date
Pages
334
Dimensions
5.59 X 8.66 X 1.34 inches | 1.05 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781684426706
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Rob Rufus is an author, musician, screenwriter, and advocate. He is the recipient of the American Library Association's prestigious ALEX Award. His literary debut, Die Young With Me, was named one of the Best Books of the Year by Hudson Booksellers and is currently being developed as a major motion picture. His follow-up, The Vinyl Underground, was named one of the Junior Library Guild's Gold Standard Selections. He lives with his dog in East Nashville, Tennessee. Catch him on the road with his bands The Bad Signs or Blacklist Royals, and learn more at www.robrufus.net

Reviews

"An infectious mix of thriller and social commentary... brilliant." --Publishers Weekly


"Unsettling and unforgettable, Paradise, WV walks a line between pulp fiction and compassionate storytelling." --Foreword Reviews


"Paradise, WV is chock-full of transient characters seeking truth and belonging amid bleak circumstances. Rufus adeptly explores the often-overlooked angles of the opioid epidemic and true crime fascination: empathy and hope. Between the eerie backroads, disturbing killings, and a snake-handling cult--I couldn't look away! If Flannery O'Connor's fiction and Metallica's music had a baby, it would be this book." --Jennifer Moffett, author of Those Who Prey


"Paradise, WV takes readers on a heart-pounding thrill ride that exposes the dark underbelly of humanity. In it, the opioid crisis, cults, and family dysfunction counterpoint a complex mystery about a serial killer haunting a West Virginia town and the children of a wrongfully-convicted murderer who'll do anything to prove their father's innocence. Rufus's prose is sharp and cutting; his damaged characters painfully realistic and memorable. Lovers of both the horror and mystery genres will find much to enjoy in this macabre thriller." --D.K. Stone, Giller Prize nominated author of Edge of Wild, The Dark Divide, and Fall of Night


"Rufus's thriller was an atmospheric ride that started quick, had me holding on for dear life through the twists and turns, and swept me up to a stunning and surprising end. Excellent." --CL Walters, author of The Stories Stars Tell


"Paradise, WV strikes like a copperhead, filled with dark hilarity, crackling Appalachian gothic mystery, and buzzsaw punk rock energy. Fans of Elmore Leonard, Harry Crews, and Daniel Woodrell, take note." --Jeff Zentner, award-winning author of The Serpent King


"What do you get when you have a story about friendship, family and hope intertwined with a town overridden with drug addiction, a cult and a serial killer? Rufus' seamlessly-told tale Paradise, WV. Rufus' exceptional storytelling showcases the novel's distinctive characters through their flaws, their actions and their motivations. Always engaging and never lacking in satisfaction, Paradise, WV is a literary pleasure." --Cyn Vargas, author of On The Way


"Rufus's multi-layered page-turner about cults, murder, and deep, dark secrets is a thrilling, creeptastic ride from the punch-you-in-the-gut beginning to an EPIC ending you won't see coming." --Candace Ganger Powell, author of Six Goodbyes We Never Said