Paradise on Fire

Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$8.99  $8.36
Publisher
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publish Date
Pages
272
Dimensions
5.32 X 7.64 X 0.73 inches | 0.47 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780316493857

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author

Jewell Parker Rhodes is the author of Ninth Ward, winner of a Coretta Scott King Honor; Sugar, winner of the Jane Addams Children's Book Award; and the New York Times-bestselling Ghost Boys; as well as Bayou Magic; Towers Falling; Black Brother, Black Brother; and Paradise on Fire. She has written many award-novels for adults, including, MAGIC CITY, a novel about the 1921 Tulsa Race Massacre. Jewell is the Virginia G. Piper Endowed Chair of Creative Writing at Arizona State University.

Reviews
"The book is sparsely written, poetic in its style. Despite the destruction, the narrative is fundamentally optimistic, rooted in the power of nature and community to bring us back to ourselves when we fear all is lost." --The Los Angeles Times
"...an exciting page-turner."--School Library Connection
"This page-turning tale is not to be missed."--B&N Reads
"Lyrical in tone, the first-person narration brings home Addy's love of nature as well as her urgency to protect it."--Horn Book
"Paradise on Fire is a brilliant melding of captivating storytelling and crucial teaching moments."--Shelf Awareness
"People of color have not historically featured in wilderness stories, which makes this title refreshing, especially in light of national conversations around racial equity in outdoor spaces. A strong read-alike for Gary Paulsen fans or older kids who have graduated from the I Survived series but are still seeking a thrilling survival story."

--Booklist
"Addy is a heroine any reader might aspire to be, a teenager who learns to trust her own voice and instincts, who realizes that fire can live within someone, too."--New York Times
"Readers will love the mix of suspense, action, and emotion in this book."--Time for Kids
"...simply a brilliant book"--Bloomberg
Praise for Jewell Parker Rhodes

Winner of the 2022 Green Earth Book Award
"A classic sports story."--BCCB
"This novel offers a solid story, with relatable, three-dimensional characters considering identity, that will teach readers about colorism's effects."
--Publishers Weekly