Palm Beach: A Summer Beach Read

(Author)
Backorder (temporarily out of stock)
Product Details
Price
$16.99  $15.80
Publisher
Harper Paperbacks
Publish Date
Pages
320
Dimensions
5.8 X 8.4 X 1.2 inches | 0.5 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780063011380

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author

Mary Adkins is the author of When You Read This, Privilege, and Palm Beach. A native of the American South and a graduate of Duke University and Yale Law School, her writing has appeared in the New York Times and the Atlantic. She also teaches storytelling for The Moth. She lives in Nashville, Tennessee.

Reviews

"Palm Beach centers on a 30-something married couple who pull up stakes and relocate with their newborn son to South Florida, where they become increasingly, uncomfortably close to a billionaire VC and his wife." -- Bustle, "20 Books to Read if You Love Sally Rooney"

"Mary Adkins' PALM BEACH is a rare page-turner that gives you all the fun and decadence of a beach read while exploring the relevant issues around wealth inequity. I opened it up and could not stop reading!" -- Jessica Anya Blau, author of Mary Jane

"A look inside the world of the ultra-rich, PALM BEACH offers up moral complexity, page-turning plotting, and deep insight into motherhood and family. Delicious, addictive, whip-smart and full of heart." -- Rufi Thorpe, author of The Knockout Queen

"A smart page-turner." -- Palm Beach Daily News

"Poses serious questions relatable to many readers in addition to being an entertaining, quick read. . . . Adkins' latest has plenty of substance. . . . Palm Beach would certainly generate lively discussion among book club members and may have you questioning what you would do in a similar situation." -- BookTrib

"A unique twist on a fish-out-of-water story centered on a couple who relocate to Palm Beach from New York City. . . . Fans of Jojo Moyes and Sally Rooney will appreciate Adkins' talent in weaving subtle events together to create complex characters whose persuasions evolve throughout." -- Booklist

"An entertaining read. . . . Adkins offers great fodder for book club discussions; her novel should appeal to readers who enjoyed Cristina Alger's The Darlings, Julian Fellowes's Snobs, or Sophie McManus's The Unfortunates." -- Library Journal

"Delves into the world of Florida's wealthy excess. . . . it'll keep readers turning the pages." -- Publishers Weekly