Palace of Treason: A Novelvolume 2

Backorder (temporarily out of stock)
1 other format in stock!
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$29.00  $26.97
Publisher
Scribner Book Company
Publish Date
Pages
480
Dimensions
6.3 X 9.1 X 1.3 inches | 1.4 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781476793740

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Jason Matthews was an officer of the CIA's Operations Directorate. Over a thirty-three-year career he served in multiple overseas locations, spoke six foreign languages, and engaged in clandestine collection of national security intelligence, specializing in denied-area operations. Matthews conducted recruitment operations against Soviet-East European, East Asian, Middle Eastern, and Caribbean targets. As Chief in various CIA Stations, he collaborated with foreign partners in counterproliferation and counterterrorism operations. His first novel, Red Sparrow, won the Edgar Award for Best First Novel and was made into a major motion picture starring Jennifer Lawrence. He continued the Red Sparrow trilogy with Palace of Treason and The Kremlin's Candidate. Jason Matthews passed away in 2021.
Reviews
"The world of a spy is unique and claustrophobic, but this bold tale captures its every nuance with expert precision. A tantalizing premise, and a heroine who's an alpha female, forge a solid piece of entertainment that does not disappoint."--Steve Berry, New York Times bestselling author of The Patriot Threat
"Red Sparrow, Jason Matthews's debut thriller, is a challenging act to follow. Palace of Treason, the sequel to Red Sparrow, does not disappoint. The book is enthralling. Matthews deftly weaves in enough back story to hook both new readers and those returning. Palace of Treason shimmers with authenticity. The villains are richly drawn...the scenes of them on the job are beyond chilling. Whether in Vienna, Moscow, or Washington, Matthews's scene-setting is superb, and he has a fine eye for telling details."-- "New York Times Book Review"
"On a scale of one to five stars, Palace of Treason is a six. With Palace of Treason, Jason Matthews has resurrected the spy novel from the doldrums of silly car chases, martinis shaken not stirred, and dubious tradecraft to reflect the deadly serious stakes of the new Cold War."-- "New York Journal of Books"
Like the first novel, [Palace of Treason] is as suspenseful and cinematic as the best spy movies around. Matthews knows his tradecraft, and he knows his writing craft, too."-- "Philadelphia Inquirer"
"[Palace of Treason] is every bit as good as his debut [Red Sparrow]. Authentic tradecraft, a complex plot that steadily builds tension, and credible heroes and villains on both sides make this a standout."-- "Publishers Weekly, STARRED review"
Matthews'characters are intensely sympathetic or stupendously vile; and the writing is entrancing in its exactitude and dark fluidity. With escalating dramatizations of intelligence work noble, nefarious, and absurd; horrifying scenes of intimate violence; interludes of perilous lust; and unnervingly prescient, headline-matching incidents, Matthews' latest is an extraordinarily commanding, acidly relevant, and unrelentingly suspenseful tale of espionage, brutality, and conscience."-- "Booklist, STARRED review"
"Matthews' vast experience working in the shadowy world of espionage and spycraft lends an authenticity to his story that few can equal.And it doesn't hurt that he can write. While Ian Fleming's work had a bit of a campy feel to it, Matthews doesn't take that approach; his spies are grittier and more human, more like those of John le Carré, and his knowledge of the inner workings of that world adds authenticity that other current writers simply can't approach...This is another must-read for fans of the spy genre."-- "Kirkus, STARRED review"
"You'll never see Vladimir Putin in the same light after reading this chilling portrait. Matthews's characters seem to leap out of the page; his firsthand familiarity with the toys and routines of the spy world is a definite plus. VERDICT: Seldom is a sequel as stunning as the original, but this one absolutely triumphs."-- "Library Journal, STARRED review"
"Jason Matthews has an amazing feel for the insider lingo and relentless intrigue of the spy's life. Palace of Treason is a harrowing look into the lives of spies...This is stay-up-all-night reading, and we're pummeled by hair-trigger actions on every page."-- "BookPage"
His real life experiences in the shadowy world of spying make the story fresh, timely and nearly authentic...a sophisticated, behind-the -scenes, powerful story...well-written, creative.-- "Missourian"
You too may also conclude that Red Sparrow is the best espionage novel you've ever read.--Keith Thomson "Huffington Post on RED SPARROW"
"Sublime and sophisticated debut... Red Sparrow isn't just a fast-paced thriller -- it's a first-rate novel as noteworthy for its superior style as for its gripping depiction of a secretive world."--Art Taylor "The Washington Post on RED SPARROW"
A primer in 21st-century spying... terrifically good.-- "The New York Times Book Review on RED SPARROW"
A smart, intriguing tale...Fans of John Le Carre and Ian Fleming will happily embrace Matthews' central spy.-- "USA Today on RED SPARROW"