Out of Body

Available

Product Details

Price
$19.99  $18.59
Publisher
Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Publish Date
Pages
272
Dimensions
5.8 X 8.54 X 0.72 inches | 0.71 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780063255715

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

NIA DAVENPORT is the author of the sci-fi fantasy Blood Gift duology. A lover of both science and literature, Nia has taught English and biology to a diverse public school population in Texas. She grew up in Atlanta, Georgia, and now lives in Houston, Texas, with her husband and kids. Find out more at nedavenport.com.

Reviews

"The examination of relevant teen themes of race, selfhood, and relationships plays out against the backdrop of an imaginatively developed landscape. In her YA debut, adult science fiction author Davenport deftly handles the body-switching plotline, keeping readers aware of who's who while delivering all too believable scares in a story that's a great choice for fans of Jordan Peele and Tiffany D. Jackson. Complex, entertaining, and thought provoking." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"LC's complex characterization and Megan's gradual empathy for her plight are rewarding and thoughtfully rendered. Davenport (the Blood Gift Duology, for adults) utilizes powerful social commentary surrounding agency and living as a Black teen in contemporary society coupled with Megan's burgeoning self-confidence and rapid pacing to keep the pages turning toward an open-ended yet gratifying conclusion." -- Publishers Weekly

"This fast-paced sci-fi thriller will delight readers looking for a tightly plotted novel with a strong voice and a unique take on memory, identity, and what makes us who we are." -- Booklist

"With a bold premise and masterfully revealed plot, this thrilling novel is classic sci-fi with a twist. This isn't the carefree high jinks of Freaky Friday, this spookiness is straight out of The Matrix. Subtle lessons of accepting yourself are enhanced by the action in the book." -- School Library Journal