One Day You'll Burn

Backorder (temporarily out of stock)
Product Details
Price
$15.99  $14.87
Publisher
Poisoned Pen Press
Publish Date
Pages
336
Dimensions
5.4 X 8.2 X 1.0 inches | 0.75 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781492684442

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author

Joseph Schneider lives with his wife and two children in California. His professional affiliations include The Magic Castle and the Imperial Society of Teachers of Dancing. One Day You'll Burn is his debut novel.

Reviews
"One Day You'll Burn is much more than just an intriguing Hollywood mystery, it's a captivating character study of a unique academic/historian-turned-police-detective who can't keep his deep intelligence from bubbling out -- often to his own embarrassment and the reader's delight. Joseph Schneider has created a very appealing character whom readers will definitely want to see more of." - Kenneth Johnson, bestselling author of The Man of Legends
"One Day You'll Burn knocked me out. It's a riveting, richly-layered detective novel that satisfies and surprises on every single page. Joseph Schneider is a major new talent in the world of crime fiction." - Lou Berney, Edgar Award-winning author of The Long and Faraway Gone
"Schneider's debut enlivens the police procedural with offbeat characters and an appealingly complex hero." - Kirkus Reviews
"Schneider redefines the detective genre while giving us a history lesson of Hollywood, the town of dreams it was, and the nightmare it has become." - Jim Hayman, executive producing director of NCIS: New Orleans
"Tully Jarsdel joins the gumshoe greats in this whipsmart riff on sunbaked L.A. noir." - David Stenn, author of Clara Bow: Runnin' Wild and Bombshell: The Life and Death of Jean Harlow
"The solid debut police procedural is an homage to Hollywood and its history, with descriptive details of corners of Hollywood, classic films, and even traffic jams. The atmospheric mystery introduces a fascinating new detective who will appeal to fans of Michael Connelly's Harry Bosch" - Library Journal
"ONE DAY YOU'LL BURN... stars a memorable character who you will want to see more of very soon." - Booklist
"There's a lot of good detective work and excellent characterization in this debut procedural that features one of the most original heroes to come out of the genre in a long while. " - Criminal Element
" Fans of James Ellroy or Raymond Chandler will enjoy the vibe of One Day You'll Burn, the first in a projected series. " - Shelf Awareness
"Under its Poisoned Press imprint, Sourcebooks packs a debut police procedural from Joseph Schneider that dips into the grotesque and bizarre, while walking through what at first seems like ordinary Los Angeles life. LAPD Detective Tully Jarsdel, a former academic who's not yet trusted by his colleagues, snags a case that hangs on both a screenplay and some of the most twisted tortures of the past -- the LONG past (think Greek mythos, even). Jarsdel himself, protagonist of a promised series, is a surprisingly sweet guy who tangles in an affectionate way with one of the crime victims along his path -- made miserable and lonely by the work of a serial pet killer who strikes during the weddings of the pet owners. ONE DAY YOU'LL BURN is a grim title and threatens horrendous torture along the way, but includes a lot of pure LA "camp" with a lot of film fun -- and I couldn't put it down. I kept hoping Jarsdel might prove himself and "get the girl" at the same time. There's even a moment when "He now knew, in painstaking detail, how G --- had died." But instead there's a highly satsifying and grim ending ahead. Make room on the bookshelf for the sequels" - Kingdom Books
"An auspicious and engaging debut. Mr. Schneider conjures up an original protagonist in LAPD Homicide Detective Tully Jarsdel-and prestidigitates a thoroughly thrilling narrative ride through the mean streets and glittering boulevards of Los Angeles. The reader looks forward to many more Jarsdel mysteries in the coming years." - Eric Overmyer, executive producer of Bosch