On Vicious Worlds

Pre-Order   Ships Oct 15, 2024
Product Details
Price
$19.99  $18.59
Publisher
Orbit
Publish Date
Pages
480
Dimensions
6.0 X 9.25 X 1.2 inches | 0.0 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780316463522

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Bethany Jacobs is a former college instructor of writing and science fiction, who made the leap to education technology and now teaches tech heads how to write. She lives in Buffalo, New York with her wife and her dog and her books. These Burning Stars is her debut novel.
Reviews
"An intricate plot for revenge drives this far-future SF political thriller. An exciting start from a fresh talent, offering emotional and political complexity plus plenty of interplanetary action."--Kirkus (Starred Review) on These Burning Stars
"Readers who love smart thrillers and explosive sf won't want to miss this book."--Booklist (Starred Review) on These Burning Stars
"Warps readers across the galaxy on a devilishly fun thrill ride ... These Burning Stars is plotted like a chess match, confident and surprising as Jacobs moves each piece thoughtfully across her board ... If Jacobs' second entry is anything like the first, we'll have so much more to discover across her universe in the years to come."--BookPage (Starred Review) on These Burning Stars
"The resulting multiplayer cat-and-mouse game is intricately plotted and tightly paced with a satisfying ending that sets the stage nicely for the next installment. Space opera fans will eat this up."--Publishers Weekly on These Burning Stars
"Immersive and epic; a sprawling space opera perfect for fans of A Memory Called Empire and Too Like the Lightning."--Kameron Hurley, author of The Light Brigade on These Burning Stars
"Like every good revenge story, These Burning Stars is baroque, intense, inventive, vivid, violent, and visceral. An impressive debut." --Kate Elliott, author of Unconquerable Sun on These Burning Stars
"A richly imagined space opera packed with intricate worldbuilding, compelling prose, and twisty politics, artfully woven together and delivered through a cast of fallible, endearing characters. An incredible debut perfect for fans of Ann Leckie, Kate Elliott, and Scalzi's Interdependency series."--J. S. Dewes, author of The Last Watch on These Burning Stars
"A sizzling political space opera exploring the borders of passion and monstrosity, hunter and hunted, obsession and devotion. Jacobs is an exciting new author to watch."--Essa Hansen, author of Nophek Gloss on These Burning Stars
"I love a book that makes me pay attention and rewards me for it. I love even more a book with complicated, messy politics. But really, I'm here for the characters, and Jacobs ' are compelling, flawed, tragic and hopeful at the same time. What's that? There's a sequel? I can't wait."--K. Eason, author of How Rory Thorne Destroyed the Multiverse on These Burning Stars
"Jacobs's characters and prose have a sharpness to them that's both beautiful and devastating. These Burning Stars blew me away."--Marina Lostetter, author of The Helm of Midnight on These Burning Stars
"If I were to say that this was the best debut novel I've read in a long time, I would be doing it a disservice. It's more than that--it's one of the best SF books I've read period. It has it all: jump off the page action, wild twists, superb world building. And the characters! It's rare that an author can make you care about so many different characters the way that Jacobs does. Go ahead and pencil her in for your Astounding Award ballot for best new author."--Michael Mammay, author of Planetside on These Burning Stars
"With a cast of deliciously dangerous characters and a gloriously executed plot that twists like a knife, this propulsive debut heralds the start of a sweeping space opera saga in the vein of Ann Leckie and Alastair Reynolds. Bethany Jacobs is an ingenious worldbuilder and a stunning new voice to look out for in sci-fi."--Ren Hutchings, author of Under Fortunate Stars on These Burning Stars
"The vivid characters and ratcheting plot tension kept me racing through the book. And as soon as I hit the last page, I immediately wanted to turn right back and read it all over again just to savor the elegance with which it builds to its explosive conclusion. Jacobs' trilogy is destined to be the space opera of the decade and I can't wait to have the next one in my hands!"--Rebecca Fraimow, author of The Iron Children on These Burning Stars