On a Woman's Madness

(Author) (Translator)
Available

Product Details

Price
$24.95  $23.20
Publisher
Two Lines Press
Publish Date
Pages
284
Dimensions
5.1 X 8.1 X 1.2 inches | 1.05 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781949641431

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

In 1966, at the age of 19, Astrid Roemer emigrated from Suriname to the Netherlands. She identifies herself as a cosmopolitan writer. Exploring themes of race, gender, family, and identity, her poetic, unconventional prose stands in the tradition of authors such as Toni Morrison and Alice Walker. She was awarded the P.C. Hooft Prize in 2016, and the three-yearly Dutch Literature Prize (Prijs der Nederlandse Letteren) in 2021.

Reviews

"Roemer makes her English-language debut with this classic of queer Black literature....As Roemer pushes at the boundaries of the senses, she melds biting postcolonial social commentary with a lush dreamscape. Scott's translation is a gift to English-language readers." --Publishers Weekly

"On a Woman's Madness, like its narrator, refuses to be one thing or another, but lives in the rich realm that lies between binaries, where awe and astonishment thrive. Here, memory and desire, like the serpents who dwell within Roemer's pages, lurk and coil and crush and consume us. I don't know if I've ever read a novel that so overwhelmed me with pulsing, coursing life." --Kent Wascom, author of The New Inheritors

"The legacy of colonialism and slavery affects both Noenka and her nation, Suriname, as she fights to escape her brutish husband and stay with the one she truly loves....The dialogue flows as if from another world: grand and old-fashioned. Noenka's story unfolds in similar fashion, with dramatic twists and terrible revelations." --Foreword Reviews
"The atmosphere of a thriller, combined with the lyrical description of a woman's inner world, makes On a Woman's Madness a most exceptional book." --Trouw
"The whole book is a headlong search for identity, the identity of all women. Spellbinding prose, like rampant vegetation." --Inge Meijer, Literair Nederland

"Its wealth of sights, scents, and ... and its sensuality, exceptional in Dutch literature, make On a Woman's Madness a great literary achievement, linked thematically to Louis Couperus...and stylistically to Gabriel García Márquez's One Hundred Years of Solitude." --Judges' report, P.C. Hooft Prize 2016

"With her novels, plays and poems she occupies a unique position in the Dutch-language literature landscape. Her work is unconventional, poetic and experimental and succeeds in linking recent major history and its themes (corruption, tension, guilt, colonization and decolonization) to minor history." --the jury of the Prize of Dutch Literature 2021
"'The Dutch Caribbean literature of the twenty-first century is dominated by female authors. Many of the new female prose writers modeled themselves on the woman who like no other set her seal on the last quarter of the twentieth century: Astrid Roemer." --Professor Michiel van Kempen in Women's Writing from the Low Countries 1880-2010