Nubia: The Awakening

Backorder (temporarily out of stock)
1 other format in stock!
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$19.99  $18.59
Publisher
Delacorte Press
Publish Date
Pages
368
Dimensions
5.6 X 8.4 X 1.5 inches | 1.06 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780593428641

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Actor and producer Omar Epps was first introduced to audiences as Q in Ernest Dickerson's cult classic Juice, opposite Tupac Shakur. He has gone on to star in the beloved romance Love & Basketball, as Dr. Eric Foreman on massively popular TV show House, as Jeff Cole in In Too Deep, as Isaac Johnson on Shooter, and as Darnell on This Is Us. He is the author of a memoir, From Fatherless to Fatherhood. Nubia: The Awakening is his first novel.

Clarence A. Haynes has worked as an editor for a variety of publishers that include Penguin Random House and Amazon Publishing as well as Legacy Lit, an imprint of Hachette Book Group. He has edited top-selling fiction titles like The Hundredth Queen, Scarlet Odyssey, Legacy of Lies, These Toxic Things, and The Washington Post and Amazon Charts bestseller The Vine Witch, along with its two sequels. He is also the author of the nonfiction work The Legacy of Jim Crow.
Reviews
"Perfect for fans of Divergent and Black Panther." --In Touch Weekly

"A Fascinating Dystopian Page-Turner" --The Root

"Nubia: The Awakening is a story with a familiar sci-fi trope of dystopian futures but is done in a revolutionary way that brings diversity, camaraderie and familiarity to the forefront." --MadameNoire

"This novel offers a powerful critique of capitalism, classism, and racial injustice . . . [and] combines a high-action plot with engaging characters and will keep readers on the edge of their seats. VERDICT: A complex dystopian novel that will circulate well with fans of Black Panther, Tomi Adeyemi, and Roseanne A. Brown." --School Library Journal

"Epps and Haynes' characters are admirable; each of the narrators is given agency and motivation in a way that makes them memorable in their own right . . . Readers will find plenty of familiar sf and fantasy tropes here, but these are made fresh by the story highlighting the power of the African diaspora." --Booklist

"Epps and Haynes skillfully build emotional and narrative suspense by weaving the cast members' conflicting needs and expectations into an explosive adventure." --Publishers Weekly

"A justifiable critique of today." --Kirkus Reviews