Saevus Corax Deals with the Dead

(Author)
Available
Product Details
Price
$19.99  $18.59
Publisher
Orbit
Publish Date
Pages
400
Dimensions
5.5 X 8.3 X 1.1 inches | 0.8 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780316668903

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
K.J. Parker is a pseudonym for Tom Holt. He was born in London in 1961. At Oxford he studied bar billiards, ancient Greek agriculture and the care and feeding of small, temperamental Japanese motorcycle engines; interests which led him, perhaps inevitably, to qualify as a solicitor and emigrate to Somerset, where he specialized in death and taxes for seven years before going straight in 1995. He lives in Chard, Somerset, with his wife and daughter.
Reviews
"Full of invention and ingenuity . . . Great fun."--SFX on Sixteen Ways to Defend a Walled City
"Parker's acerbic wit and knowledge of human nature are a delight to read as he explores the way conflict is guided, in equal measure, by the brilliance and unerring foolishness of humanity . . . . Thoroughly engaging."--RT Books Reviews on The Two of Swords: Volume One
"This is another splendid offering from K.J. Parker, the (pseudonymous) British fantasist who seems incapable of writing in anything but top form."--Locus on Sharps
"Well-crafted, powerful and downright unmissable"--SFX on The Company
"Brilliant."--Locus on The Engineer Trilogy
"Skillful plotting and rich scene-setting."--Guardian on The Company
"A richly textured and emotionally complex fantasy...Highly recommended."--Library Journal on The Engineer Trilogy (starred review)
"Astonishingly good."--RT Book Reviews on Sharps
"Parker's skillful control of pacing, expert rendering of characters, and subtle sense of humor add depth and believability."--Library Journal on Sharps
"Part political intrigue, part underdog tale, part acerbic commentary on humanity, Parker's dryly funny low fantasy is off to a strong start."--Booklist on Saevus Corax Deals with the Dead
"Readers who like Peter David, A. Lee Martinez, or the Guardians of the Galaxy movies will find this title right up their alley with similar tones, fantastical plots, and over-the-top characters."--Library Journal on Saevus Corax Deals with the Dead
"In this epic trilogy opener, Parker offers dark humor and bloody conflict alongside a cutting examination of the cost of war and the people who exacerbate and profit from it... A promising series starter that's sure to appeal to Parker's fans."--Publishers Weekly