Monstrous: A Transracial Adoption Story

(Author)
Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$17.99  $16.73
Publisher
First Second
Publish Date
Pages
272
Dimensions
6.17 X 8.47 X 0.8 inches | 1.25 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781250268808

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Comic artist, writer, and colorist Sarah Myer (they/them) is an Eisner and L.A. Times Book Prize-nominated author of the graphic memoir Monstrous: A Transracial Adoption Story (First Second). Sarah is the illustrator and cover artist of several issues of the comic series Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Saturday Morning Adventures, and was previously the colorist of TMNT vs Street Fighter and TMNT: Saturday Morning Adventures comics, as well as a variant cover artist of TMNT Usagi Yojimbo: WhereWhen. Sarah's other work includes their independent webcomic Cheer Up, Michael!, Hello Kitty & Friends Coloring Book, the Ringo Award-nominated anthology Votes for Women: The Battle for the 19th Amendment, for which they wrote and illustrated the installment "Asian American Exclusion," and the graphic novel Maker Comics: Create a Costume!. An avid convention attendee since 1999, Sarah has constructed and worn over fifty cosplay costumes and enjoys cooking, weight-lifting, and spending time with their cat Loki when they are not creating comics. Sarah can be found at sarahmyer.net and on Instagram @smyercomics
Reviews

Nominated for the L.A. Times Book Prize and Eisner Award in the teen categories

Included in the 2023 best-of-the-year lists from YALSA, Kirkus, School Library Journal, Booklist, the Boston Globe, the New York Public Library, the Beat, and more!

"Heartfelt... Misfit readers will take solace in this just as Myer took comfort from Sailor Moon." --Boston Globe

"For fans of Jarrett Krosoczka's Hey, Kiddo and Robin Ha's Almost American Girl, this coming-of-age memoir will appeal to youth who are struggling with their identity." --School Library Journal, starred review

"Immersive and engrossing: a beautifully depicted emotional journey." --Kirkus, starred review

"Her powerful memoir is an empathic gift, presented in full technicolor with never-static panels, showcasing raw energy." --Booklist, starred review

"This is a fierce graphic memoir with grit and honesty." --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, starred review

"Those who stick with the unflinching depictions of the bullying Myer endured will be rewarded with an engaging--and ultimately hopeful--narrative of a young artist developing their own true identity." --Horn Book Magazine, starred review

"Those wrestling with feelings of disconnect from their communities will find validation in this confessional read." --Publishers Weekly

"The author writes frankly and honestly about the overt racism they dealt with daily and their struggle with their non-binary identity... an alternate title for Monstrous could be Fandom Saved My Life." --the Beat

"
We all have a monster within us, but as Sarah shows us in their story, the best way to fight the monster is with love for each other, and most importantly, ourselves." --Good Comics for Kids