Meet Me Tonight in Atlantic City

(Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$27.95  $25.99
Publisher
Tin House Books
Publish Date
Pages
288
Dimensions
5.87 X 8.74 X 1.02 inches | 0.96 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781953534675

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Jane Wong is the author of the poetry collections How to Not Be Afraid of Everything and Overpour. An associate professor of creative writing at Western Washington University, she grew up in New Jersey and currently lives in Seattle, Washington.

Reviews

In a soaring poetic voice layered across word-worlds of varying textures, from photographs to drawings to text-message conversations to an intense nonfiction index. . . . Jane Wong's Meet Me Tonight in Atlantic City transcends the genre of memoir.-- "Los Angeles Review of Books"
Wonderful. . . . an honest and forgiving recollection of a childhood. . . . perfect for fans of Seeing Ghosts and Stay True.-- "Book Riot"
Gorgeous. . . . dense with beautiful sensory images, particularly of food. In her own indelible way, Wong records her coming of age and finding her place in her family, in poetry and in the world.-- "Book Page"
About growing up working class, Wong's path to forgiving her father, dealing with abusive and toxic men and the beauty of mother-daughter relationships.-- "Purewow"
The abundance and the beauty and the bounty that is this book completely blew me away. . . . It's so crisp, clear and evocative and just a joy to read.-- "I'm a Writer But"
More than a story of immigration or of one US city, it explores the complexities of life and the dichotomies of emotion and experience that can occur within a single person.-- "Ms. Magazine"
Sizzles with originality and with heart.-- "Hippocampus Magazine"
Unfiltered.... [an] aching, angry, surprisingly funny portrait of a poet demanding, fighting, and eating her way to self-acceptance and earned recognition.-- "Booklist"
My favorite aphorism about New Jersey is that only the strong survive it. I see that place here in all its chaotic splendor and that strength in the carving marks on each finely cut image. This is a perfect and glimmering book that could only have been forged in Jane Wong's bloody and beautiful heart.--Elissa Washuta, author of White Magic
Blazing, lyrical. . . . A tender love letter.-- "The Boston Globe"
Her story is about surviving with what you have and what you don't?and also a love letter to Atlantic City and the Asian American working class.-- "The Los Angeles Times"
Joyful. . . . lyrical. . . . Wong's memoir invites those who have been overlooked in America to hold up their verses, accolades and solidarity in a collective rejoinder to their detractors.-- "The Washington Post"
With a strong sense of place and voice, heart and soul, Meet Me Tonight in Atlantic City delivers a fresh take on the Asian American working class -- and one woman's journey to understanding her past.-- "Good Morning America"
Written with poetic lyricism laced with rage and humor. . . . What shines through in Wong's memoir is the beacon of her mother's indefatigable optimism and trust in others in the face of a multitude of hardships.-- "The Rumpus"
Thick with poetic imagery. . . . There's an urgency here, a gobbling speed that matches the intensity of the flavors spilling out of the restaurant kitchen.-- "Crosscut"
Loaded with personality and originality. . . . lyric energy bursts from almost every sentence.-- "Kirkus Reviews"
Searing, stunning, and singular.--Kyle Lucia Wu, author of Win Me Something
To borrow Jane Wong's own words, there are sparks coming off Wong's blade of language. The spunky voice in this memoir shines through. I'm so grateful to Wong for telling her unique story in only the way she can, and in the process, expanding the possibilities of Asian American stories. There's so much heart in these stories that explore race, class, and family history, that we can't help but root for the protagonist. This is a big-hearted coming-of-age book that simultaneously asks hard questions.--Victoria Chang, author of The Trees Witness Everything
Jane Wong, with her poet's eye for precise and delightful detail, carves out a quintessential story of family, gambling, loss, heartaches, toothaches, and above all, love. Meet Me Tonight in Atlantic City takes a father's addiction to the prismatic casinos of Atlantic City and places it against a mother's fierce, unsparing devotion and a daughter's struggle to make sense of loss. I love the tenderness and ferocity of her prose, unsentimental and wrenching, that refuses easy triumph in its immigrant story and isn't afraid of uncovering both beauty and brutality. Meet Me Tonight in Atlantic City is, at heart, a love story between Wong and her mother, Wong and herself.--Sally Wen Mao, author of Oculus
One of the standout memoirs of 2023 thus far. . . . Alive with the beauty that comes with looking back on one's life with grace and new understanding.-- "Chicago Review of Books"
I love a good memoir, and I'm looking forward to poet Jane Wong's Meet Me Tonight in Atlantic City, about growing up in a Chinese restaurant on the Jersey shore.--Joanna Goddard "Cup of Jo"
Wong writes with candor, vexation, and compassion.-- "Bustle"
Delightful. . . . With a poet's ear for language and a satirist's eye for human foibles, Wong masterfully marries her personal story with larger questions about Chinese American identity. This is a winner.-- "Publishers Weekly, Starred Review"
Humorous and honest and lyrical. . . . This story of making a life with what you have is one that will stick with you.-- "Independent Book Review"
Essential. . . . an original immigrant story that is also universal.-- "Full Stop"
Resists a single identity. It's about making do with what you have and don't have and finding beauty in unexpected places. It's a loving portrait of the Asian American working class.-- "She Reads"
[Wong] paints her story with flourish.-- "The New York Times Book Review"
An honest look at a working-class community that is too often forgotten. Meet Me Tonight in Atlantic City refuses summary with its sprawling essays of how love, community, and writing make us resilient.-- "Ploughshares"
LONGLISTED FOR THE 2023 NEW AMERICAN VOICES AWARD