Lockdown: Escape from Furnace

Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$12.99  $12.08
Publisher
Square Fish
Publish Date
Pages
304
Dimensions
5.5 X 8.25 X 1.0 inches | 0.6 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780312611934

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author

Alexander Gordon Smith is the author of the Escape from Furnace series. Born in 1979 in Norwich, England, he always wanted to be a writer. After experimenting in the service and retail trades for a few years, Smith decided to go to University. He studied English and American Literature at the University of East Anglia, and it was here that he first explored his love of publishing. Along with poet Luke Wright, he founded Egg Box Publishing, a groundbreaking magazine and press that promotes talented new authors. He also started writing literally hundreds of articles, short stories and books ranging from Scooby Doo comic strips to world atlases, Midsomer Murders to X-Files. The research for these projects led to countless book ideas germinating in his head. His first book, The Inventors, written with his nine-year-old brother Jamie, was published in the U.K. in 2007. He lives in England.

Reviews

"Fresh and ferocious, Lockdown will hook boys with its gritty, unrelenting surprises." --James Patterson

"Furnace is hotter than hell and twice as much fun! Sign me up for a life sentence of Alexander Gordon Smith!" --Darren Shan, author of the Demonata series

"This nightmarish start to a new series is unrelentingly bleak, uniquely horrifying, and strangely compelling." --Realms of Fantasy magazine

"A great next choice for fans of The Maze Runner, The Grassland Trilogy . . . or Lord of the Flies. As for me, I'm looking forward to future books. Recommended for dystopia, thriller, and horror fans, or anyone looking for a fast-paced, spine-chilling ride." --Jennifer Robinson's Bookpage

"Readers will be turning pages without pause, and the cliff-hanger ending will have them anticipating the next installment. Most appealing is Smith's flowing writing style, filled with kid-speak, colorful adjectives, and amusing analogies. Fans of James Patterson's 'Maximum Ride' and Darren Shan's 'The Demonata' series will find this satisfying fare." --School Library Journal

"One of those leave-you-on-the-edge-of-your-seat thrill rides that will grab the reader right from the start. Teens will appreciate Smith's vivid imagery. His writing is extremely fluid, and he makes the reader feel for the characters, especially the young protagonist, Alex. Readers will be cheering him on from start to finish." --Voice of Youth Advocates

"Not for the faint-hearted, this dramatic British import is both a page- and stomach-turner . . . The pacing is superb, building on the tension as each horror is revealed while saving the ultimate monstrosity for the cliffhanger ending. . . . Readers will find themselves rooting for even the most violent of the inmates as they try to make their escape and defeat the Furnace." --The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Smith establishes a quick pace." --Booklist

"Lockdown is a beautifully written book that builds itself up on violence, suspense, and mystery." --A YALSA YA Galley Teen Reader

"This is a compelling book." --Ellaina, age 14

"The whole book was extremely compelling. The . . . plot was alluring and drew you in with its dark undertones." --Hannah, age 17

"Lockdown was a brilliant book that gives vivid imagery to the life of Alex within the Furnace . . . it kept me captivated till the end." --Ryan, age 16

"Lockdown is a beautifully written book that builds itself up on violence, suspense, and mystery." --Gabe