Life and Other Love Songs

(Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$27.00  $25.11
Publisher
Berkley Books
Publish Date
Pages
336
Dimensions
6.39 X 9.25 X 1.19 inches | 1.14 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781984802460

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Anissa Gray is the author of the novel The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls. She is also an award-winning journalist whose work has been featured in The Washington Post, CNN, and The Cut. She lives in Atlanta, Georgia, with her wife.

Reviews

"Anissa Gray is a genius...magnificent!"
--Caroline Kepnes

"Life and Other Love Songs is a precisely observed, often beautiful book about family, love, loss and the hidden history that shapes lives...The prose is beautiful and poignant."
--The New York Times

"This novel wields themes of generational trauma, class and race as pickaxes, excavating a Black family's history and making room for the future to bloom."
--Essence

"Riveting, rhythmic, transcendent, Life and Other Love Songs is a stellar family saga. Anissa Gray is a writer to watch."
--Jacqueline Woodson, New York Times bestselling author of Red at the Bone

"Life and Other Love Songs builds beautifully--we care about these characters while coming to understand that the ground beneath their feet is constructed of secrets. Anissa Gray's novel feels musical in structure--the octaves rise when the music calls for it; truths are revealed by the invisible beats of this gorgeous, rich story."
--Ann Napolitano, New York Times bestselling author of Dear Edward and Oprah Book Club Pick Hello Beautiful

"Anissa Gray's Life and Other Love Songs is one of those rare novels that pulled me out of my life for a few days. The characters are real, vivid, complex - as in life. It's a story that explores the depths of darkness and fear, yet offers a window into hope."
--Mary Beth Keane, New York Times bestselling author of Ask Again, Yes

"Cleverly structured and emotionally precise, Love and Other Love Songs is a powerhouse ballad about a family whose histories--shared and individual--will pierce straight to the heart. With empathy and insight, Anissa Gray writes an expertly crafted family drama perfect for fans of Celeste Ng."
--Tara Conklin, New York Times bestselling author The Last Romantics

"Life and Other Love Songs is a harsh, sometimes haunting, astonishingly moving, exceptionally complex novel about family and music and hurt and fear and pride and love and loss. Anissa Gray tells this story with such grace, insight and precision that readers will think of these characters long after they close the book. This is what writing should be."
--LaToya Watkins, author of Perish

"Gray does not disappoint."
--Publishers Weekly

"The trajectory of Gray's flawed but relatable characters offers hope that even deep, long-festering wounds can heal."
--Kirkus Reviews

"Gray shows the complex natures of these broken characters and how abuse, deceit, and life's struggles are all made worse by racism, poverty, and homophobia. A great pick for book clubs and an essential purchase."
--Library Journal

"Humming with heart and just enough suspense to keep the pages turning, this is arresting."
--Booklist

"A powerful narrative that explores the realities of race, class, and generational history in the twentieth century."
--The Root