Lesser Known Monsters of the 21st Century

(Author)
Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$17.95  $16.69
Publisher
Tin House Books
Publish Date
Pages
232
Dimensions
5.4 X 8.4 X 0.7 inches | 0.55 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781951142995

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Kim Fu is the author of For Today I Am a Boy which won the Edmund White Award for Debut Fiction and was a finalist for the PEN/Hemingway Award, as well as a New York Times Book Review Editor's Choice. Her second novel, The Lost Girls of Camp Forevermore, was a finalist for the Washington State Book Award and the OLA Evergreen Award. Fu's writing has appeared in Granta, the Atlantic, the New York Times, Hazlitt, and the TLS. She lives in Seattle.
Reviews
Fascinating. . . . In the vein of Carmen Maria Machado and Mariana Enríquez, one of Fu's greatest strengths is her ability to turn horror on its head, focusing less on the terror the modern-day monsters incite, but what they reveal about ourselves.-- "The Adroit Journal"
Fu boldly carries all that I loved of Bradbury's fiction--its variety, sensitivity, and immense creative power--into a new era with short stories that captivate and terrify, shock and inspire. Lesser Known Monsters is a uniquely mesmerizing collection.-- "Necessary Fiction"
Quite impressive. . . . Feels fresh and new while also having the elements of a mystery you'd find in an Agatha Christie novel.-- "LeVar Burton Reads"
Powerful. . . . Fu addresses questions of technology and community with grace and subtlety.-- "Kirkus, Starred Review"
A dozen sly, provocative, fabulous short stories sure to delight and shock. From doll parts to winged ankles to stockpiled gold bars, Fu flaunts an inimitable imagination. . . . Irrefutably fantastic fiction.-- "Booklist, Starred Review"
Shape-shifting. . . . recreates the shock of feeling in a landscape of disconnection.-- "Rain Taxi"
Bold. . . . profound. . . . surreal and clever. Fu brings magical realism to exciting heights.-- "TIME"
Stellar. . . . Fu is a master mixer of the speculative, the witchy, and the real.-- "Tor.com"
Inventive and mesmerizing. . . . Vivid and surreal, readers of Carmen Maria Machado will enjoy this collection.-- "BuzzFeed"
A lovely, new collection of eclectic tales.-- "The Washington Post"
Mesmerizing. . . . 12 stories about macabre, beautifully dark images (not unlike a Lana Del Rey song). . . . Think: sexuality, guilt, contradictions, drama!-- "NYLON"
The best speculative fiction seeks to decenter, decolonize, and disrupt what many have taken for granted as the universe's natural order. Or at least, that's what I decided after reading Monsters, because in it, Fu leaps so nimbly from story to story, center to center, taking whatever perspective necessary to take nothing in the multiverse for granted. . . . Fu, who has published two novels and one book of poetry previously, excites me as an emerging speculative fiction author of unique voice and considerable talent.-- "South Seattle Emerald"
If you want your fiction as weird as it can get while still being compassionate, resonant, and beautiful, look no further. . . . Super excited about this one.-- "Patch"
This collection is akin to something out of The Twilight Zone: girls grow wings, sea monsters surface, children's toys have the power to control time. The oddities to be encountered here will delight and surprise.-- "LitHub"
Fu's stories keep you locked in and riveted. She does the thing great short story writers do, which is to say, she pulls you into the story from the jump and keeps you there. . . . [It's] fabulous, you should read it.-- "SFF YEAH!"
Kim Fu's Lesser Known Monsters of the 21st Century crushes the coal-dark zeitgeist between its teeth and spits out diamonds, beautiful but razor-sharp. This will be one of the best short story collections of the year.--Indra Das, author of The Devourers
How I loved the cool wit of these speculative stories! Filled with wonder and wondering, they're haunted too by loss and loneliness, their imaginative reach profoundly rooted in the human condition.--Peter Ho Davies, author of A Lie Someone Told You About Yourself
Enchanting, mystical and shining with ingenuity, Fu's book is strongly recommended.-- "South China Morning Post"
Will have you questioning reality and loving every minute of it.-- "Ms. Magazine"
When a collection is evocative of authors as disparate as Ray Bradbury and Stephanie Vaughn, the only possible unifier can be originality: and that's what a reader finds in Kim Fu's Lesser Known Monsters of the 21st Century. The strangest of concepts are tempered by grounded, funny dialogue in these stories, which churn with big ideas and craftily controlled antic energy.--Naben Ruthnum, author of Find You in the Dark
Stellar. . . . Fu's stories crackle with quirky plots, and her characters' problems and hunger for new possibilities are palpable. This is a winner.-- "Publishers Weekly, Starred Review"
A breathtaking collection of speculative fiction stories about how new places and innovations affect timeless emotions.-- "Foreword Reviews, Starred Review"
Lesser Known Monsters of the 21st Century is for the adventurous reader--someone willing to walk into a story primed for cultural critique and suddenly come across a plot for murder, or to consider the dangers of sea monsters alongside those posed by 21st century ennui. Each story is spectacularly smart, hybrid in genre, and bold with intention. The monsters here are not only fantastical figures brought to life in hyper-reality but also the strangest parts of the human heart. This book is as moving as it is monumental.--Lucy Tan, author of What We Were Promised
A speculative short story collection ideal for streaming audiences accustomed to Black Mirror and The Haunting of Hill House.-- "The Hollywood Reporter"
Precise, elegant, uncanny, and mesmerizing--each story in this collection is a crystalline gem. Kim Fu's talent is singularly inventive, her every sentence a surprise and an adventure.--Danya Kukafka, author of Notes on an Execution
Rich and metamorphic. . . . [Fu] clearly has a knack for the form.-- "WIRED"
The strange and wonderful define Kim Fu's story collection, where the line between fantasy and reality fades in and out, elusive and beckoning.-- "The New York Times Book Review"
A modern, mystical playground.-- "Thrillist"
Stunning. . . . A must read.-- "International Examiner"
With exceptional sleight-of-hand and significant literary talent, Fu dazzles readers.-- "Full Stop"
Fu's fiction is mesmerizing, and her new book is a collection of fantastical tales featuring sea monsters and haunted dolls.--R.O. Kwon "Electric Lit"
Delightfully, darkly bizarre. . . . I sped through this collection because it was just too good to put down.-- "In Cold Books"
The success of Kim Fu's stories is the element of the unexpected. There are surprises lurking in these narratives, whether it is a quick final plot twist or unexpected peculiarity. . . . Fu is a master of imagery.-- "Chicago Review of Books"
What makes these dozen stories really pop are the people around whom they are centered. . . . ultimately it catalogues human nature.-- "LitHub"
Haunting.-- "Bustle"
Wonderful. . . . There's nothing to fault in this book; it's an endlessly entertaining bestiary from one of the country's most exciting practitioners of fiction.-- "The Star Tribune"
An incredible collection, one with sweeping variety that is unified by a singular vision of what it means to be human.-- "The Rumpus"
Stunning. . . . Her stories engage all the senses. . . . A terrific collection of speculative fiction, with evocative, textured prose that left a lasting impression.-- "Locus Magazine"
Each story feels like a potential episode of Black Mirror, exploring futuristic technology and the dangerous hold it has on all of us.-- "Ploughshares"
Deeply vivid. . . . Fu's writing is incisive, lyrical, and inventive.-- "F(r)iction"
Strange and fantastic. . . . offers commentary on relationships, technology, and what we think we know about one another.-- "ALTA"
Deft and vivid. . . . Fu paints us pictures of the monsters that loom in the distance of our 21st century lives, at times both abstract and clear as day.-- "Porter House Review"
A dazzling and surreal collection that grabs you by the throat. . . . Riveting.-- "The Orange County Register"
Smart and sharp. . . . a first-rate collection for any fan of speculative fiction. . . . a marvelous collection of work by a writer of tremendous gifts.-- "The Maine Edge"
Vibrantly imaginative.-- "West Trade Review"
This is storytelling at its finest.-- "Lightspeed Magazine"
Fu's mastery of clever, strange concepts is undeniable. . . . Tautly controlled language, often to the point of spareness, communicates the lyrical imagination that is the foundation for each piece.-- "ZYZZYVA"
The title promises something monstrous and it delivers.-- "BookBrowse"
Strange and fantastic. . . . sheds an uncanny light on the emotional dissonance of modern life.-- "Shelf Awareness, Starred Review"
There's something for everyone in this outstanding collection, which cements Fu as one of the most exciting short story writers in contemporary fiction.-- "NPR Books"
Unsettling and downright strange.-- "Seattle Times"
Exhilarating. . . . Electrifying and haunting.-- "Book Riot"