Kristin Lavransdatter

Product Details
Read & Co. Classics
Publish Date
5.5 X 8.5 X 2.11 inches | 2.6 pounds

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Sigrid Undset (1882-1949) was a Norwegian-Danish author born in Kalundborg, Denmark. Her best-known work is the historical fiction trilogy, Kristin Lavransdatter, published between 1920 and 1922. The books capture life in medieval Norway from the perspective of one woman, from birth to death. Despite her atheist upbringing, Undset converted to Catholicism in 1924 and most of her following work reflects her strong, religious beliefs. In 1928, Undset won the Nobel Prize for Literature.

""One of the few great books of our time."" - Daily News, 1930

""[Sigrid Undset] has enriched the literature of Norway and the world by a number of books which are not likely to die."" - Signe Lund, 1923

""In Kristin Lavransdatter there is another element, perhaps an incidental or irrelevant element, which makes it, to very many ordinary readers, wholly fascinating. It presents from incident to incident a minute picture of mediaeval Norwegian life, in farm and city, church, convent, and forest. We live, in its pages, through the day to day experiences of an unfamiliar age and an unfamiliar race, who are nevertheless ordinary people experiencing the ordinary processes of life: eating, sleeping, cooking, washing, marrying, bearing and dying."" - E. M. H, Common Cause, 1930

""Kristin Lavransdatter is another work of genius... The clearness which we are able to visualise her is the surest testimony to the creative prowess of Mme. Undset."" - Illustrated London News, 1930