Kiki Kallira Breaks a Kingdom

Available

Product Details

Price
$17.99  $16.73
Publisher
Viking Books for Young Readers
Publish Date
Pages
352
Dimensions
5.4 X 8.3 X 1.3 inches | 1.02 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780593206973

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Sangu Mandanna was four years old when an elephant chased her down a forest road and she decided to write her first story about it. Seventeen years and many, many manuscripts later, she signed her first book deal. She is the author of YA novels The Lost Girl, A Spark of White Fire and its sequels, and has contributed to several anthologies. She lives in Norwich, in the east of England, with her husband and kids. Kiki Kallira Breaks a Kingdom is her first middle-grade novel.

Reviews

★ Steeped in Hindu mythology, Mandanna's fast-paced modern take on a classical myth...[is] an engaging fantastical story that will strongly appeal to readers of Rick Riordan, Roshani Chokshi, and Sayantani DasGupta.
--School Library Journal (starred review)

★ A breathtaking rush through Kiki's growing understanding of herself and the worlds, both real and fantastical, around her. Any kingdom that springs from the mind of an 11-year-old is sure to contain twists and surprises, and Kiki's does not disappoint.
--Bookpage (starred review)

Sangu Mandanna brings the reader to magical Mysore, India through the eyes of young Kiki, a relatable character trying to save both herself and the fantasy world she finds herself in. Mandanna weaves the healing power of art and imagination into this unique and fascinating adventure!
--Veera Hiranandani, author of the Newbery Honor Book, The Night Diary

Mandanna's funny, fast-paced fantasy weaves elements from ancient Indian epics into an action packed modern plot featuring a smart, strong female protagonist in a story that is sure to appeal to middle grade readers.
--Padma Venkatraman, award-winning author of The Bridge Home

I loved every minute of this magical adventure about imagination, art, beauty, and the power of fighting our own monsters.
--Stephanie Burgis, author of The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart

From beginning to end, Kiki Kallira Breaks a Kingdom is wonderfully layered with magic, from the Indian mythology-inspired world of Mysore to the joyful discovery of power and strength in unexpected places. Give this book to kid readers who adore portal fantasies and mythology, to kids struggling with fears and anxiety, and to all kids in between--I know they'll love it as much as I did!
--Elsie Chapman, author of Caster and All the Ways Home

A fast-paced, vivid and exciting adventure story with real heart, I couldn't stop reading!
--
Robin Stevens, author of the Wells and Wong Mysteries series

A fantastical adventure in a wondrous world. Young readers will be empowered by Kiki's resilience and determination to overcome her anxieties.
--Tamara Moss, award-winning author of Lintang and the Pirate Queen

Indian folklore meets fantasy adventure in this captivating novel...An action-packed, evocative portrayal of courage, friendship, and belonging.
--Kirkus Reviews

Kiki Kallira Breaks a Kingdom proves that anyone--11-year-old girls included--can be heroes and forces to be reckoned with. Adventure, humor, heart--this one has it all.
--Shelf Awareness

This opening title in British author Mandanna's first middle grade series will suit fans of Rick Riordan Presents titles, while the focus on Kiki's artistry and anxiety will appeal to readers eager for a heroine who proves that the pen (or drawing pencil) is mightier than the sword (or demon lord).
--The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books