Isle of the Amazons in the Vermilion Sea

(Illustrator) (Narrated by)
Available
Product Details
Price
$34.95
Publisher
39 West Press
Publish Date
Pages
180
Dimensions
8.0 X 10.0 X 0.63 inches | 1.62 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781946358141

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
JUDITH PALMER is a printmaker whose work is in the tradition of Jasper Johns, Cy Twombly, and Richard Diebenkorn. She explores the language of art and the process by which art's sign-system communicates its message-line, texture, color, and image. Palmer collects "found language"-numerals, words, sentences-from streets, walls, or waste paper and transfers their photo images onto zinc plates. She combines these elements with traditional, more rigid patterns and techniques of etching. The result is a dialectic, a movement back and forth between spontaneously flowing arabesques that represent energy, aggression and rebellion, and the rigid, straight lines of confinement and restriction. This combined language of spontaneity and restraint generates movement and tension between the different parts. Form becomes content.
Gregory MacDonald is Robin A. Parry, an editor at Wipf and Stock publishers.