Invisible as Air

(Author)
Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Product Details

Price
$15.99  $14.87
Publisher
William Morrow & Company
Publish Date
Pages
416
Dimensions
5.3 X 7.8 X 1.0 inches | 0.75 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780062838230

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Zoe Fishman is the 2020 Georgia Author of the Year. She is the bestselling author of five previous novels and several awards including Booklist's "Top 10 Books of the Year" and an IndieNext Pick.

She's been featured on "City Lights" with Lois Reitzes, and in Publisher's Weekly and The Atlanta Jewish Times among others. Her essays have been published in The New York Times, The Atlanta Journal Constitution and Modern Loss.

Zoe was the Director of The Decatur Writers Studio and a visiting writer at SCAD Atlanta. She lives in Decatur with her two sons.

Reviews

"Inheriting Edith is a beautifully written story about what it means to remember and what it means to forget. Fishman masterfully portrays both a single mother and an older woman with Alzheimer's, as they are both struggling to come to terms with their pasts, their futures, and each other."--Jillian Cantor, author of Margot and The Hours Count
"A charming and warm story about new adventures and old friends and how this likable heroine learns to embrace them both."--Shelly Noble, New York Times bestselling author of Beach Colors
"Fishman effectively balances humor and tension, crafting an involving portrayal of three women coping with the idea and obstacles of motherhood."--Publishers Weekly
"Fishman strikes the right balance in her warm-fuzzy debut of rekindled friendship and self-empowerment."--Publishers Weekly
"Her writing creeps up on you, like a crescent moon that seems to mysteriously switch sides in the night sky during a drive down a winding highway -- taunting, unsettling, beautiful."--Atlanta Journal-Constitution
"With psychological acuity, Fishman...takes us to the place where there is beauty in brokenness, where there is light in the dark, and where we can find intimacy in our honesty...From the first stunning choice to the last, I could not put this novel down."--Patti Callahan Henry, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Becoming Mrs. Lewis
"The characters in Invisible as Air are so real; so flawed; so compelling and vulnerable. With her trademark wit and honesty, even in the face of sorrow, Fishman will take you on a journey you won't soon forget."--Greer Hendricks, #1 New York Times bestselling coauthor of An Anonymous Girl
"A heartbreaking story about life, love, and friendship that you'll want to devour in one sitting."--Erin Duffy, author of Bond Girl and Lost Along the Way
"A beautifully crafted story about second chances and life's big surprises. Warm spirited and emotionally rich, Inheriting Edith celebrates the fine line between friendship and family. These characters will tug at your heart."--Jamie Brenner, author of The Wedding Sisters
"At turns funny and poignant, Driving Lessons is a refreshingly honest and insightful story of a woman whose questions about the direction of her life follow her from the big city to small country roads."--Meg Donohue, author of All The Summer Girls
"Fishman deftly works a small love story around larger themes of loyalty, courage, and social justice, turning what begins as adolescent angst into a touching bildungsroman."--Publishers Weekly
Praise for Inheriting Edith "Fishman deftly explores the intricate territory of mother-daughter relationships as well as the haunting specter of an Alzheimer's diagnosis for famously independent Edith...you have a delicious literary chicken soup for the soul."--Mary Kay Andrews, New York Times bestselling author of The Weekenders
"Wickedly, powerhouse, badass!"--Decatur FM
"Zoe Fishman writes with tenderness and urgency, with an ear attuned to all the silences, secrets, and strain that frequently capsize modern family life. Invisible as Air is a memorable and compelling read about slipping into darkness and trying to find the light."--Kristen Iskandrian, author of Motherest
"Fishman (Inheriting Edith, 2016) brings her signature style to a timely topic, illustrating the opioid epidemic in a realistic setting and allowing Sylvie's choices to speak for themselves...Invisible as Air takes readers on a raw and wild ride. Fans of Liane Moriarty and Jessica Levine especially should take note."--Booklist (starred review)
"Fishman's effective storytelling demonstrates the strength and also the vulnerability of family."--Jewish Book Council
"Though it speaks to one of the most difficult issues facing our nation with wisdom and deep grace, this is not an 'issue' book. This is a book about people, flawed but striving, broken but hopeful. Once I started, I couldn't put it down."--Joshilyn Jackson, New York Times bestselling author of Never Have I Ever