Ink and Ashes

Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Product Details

Price
$19.95  $18.55
Publisher
Tu Books
Publish Date
Pages
368
Dimensions
5.8 X 8.5 X 1.2 inches | 1.3 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781620142110

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Valynne Maetani grew up in Utah and obtained a Bachelor's degree from the University of Pennsylvania. In a former life, she was a project manager and developed educational software for children with learning disabilities. Her debut novel, Ink and Ashes, is the winner of the 2013 New Visions Award and a Junior Library Guild 2015 selection. Maetani is a member of the We Need Diverse Books team and is dedicated to promoting diversity in children's literature because all children should grow up believing their stories deserve to be told.

Reviews

* "This fantastic debut packs a highly suspenseful blend of action, intrigue, and teen romance." -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"This thoroughly engaging tale in the tradition of Nancy Drew or Veronica Mars ends on a satisfying note, but readers will hope for a sequel because it's just that good." -- School Library Journal

"Maetani's fast-paced debut will appeal to readers who like their intrigue with a generous helping of romance." -- Booklist

"Full of character, culture, and suspense, Ink and Ashes is a fascinating read with surprising new elements and a true heroine in Claire Takata." -- Allie Condie, author of the #1 New York Times bestselling Matched Trilogy

"I can sincerely say this was one of the best books I've read this year, and might even be in the top spot. An artful blend of Japanese culture, solid mystery, interesting characters, and an excellent use of viewpoint. I particularly enjoyed how the writer turned a major trope--the single girl in a cast of mostly guys--on its head by making it a feature of the story. An excellent, fast-paced YA mystery/thriller with an engaging character narrative and a nice mix of action, romance, and family drama. I highly recommend the book to anyone who likes Young Adult fiction." -- Brandon Sanderson, New York Times bestselling author

"In this twisty, slow-burn thriller Maetani balances murder, mystery, and family drama beautifully." -- Lamar Giles, author of Fake ID and Endangered

"Maetani has created a thriller built out of secrets, loyalty, and revenge. Her main character, Claire Takata, is both an inspired creation and inspiring heroine!" -- Sarwat Chadda, author of USBBY Outstanding International Book The Savage Forest

Best Books, Kirkus Reviews
Best Children's Books of the Year, Bank Street College of Education
New Visions Award Winner, Tu Books
Junior Library Guild Selection
Asian/Pacific American Award Honor for Literature, Asian/Pacific American Librarians Association (APALA)

Best Fiction Book, Salt Lake City Weekly
Lone Star Reading List, Texas Library Association (TLA)
Paterson Prize for Books for Young People, The Poetry Center at Passaic County Community College
Best Novel by New Author, The Whitney Awards