If We're Being Honest

(Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$28.00  $26.04
Publisher
Celadon Books
Publish Date
Pages
304
Dimensions
6.39 X 9.57 X 1.13 inches | 1.04 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781250847546

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Cat Shook graduated from the University of Georgia in 2016 with degrees in Creative Writing and Mass Media Arts. Born and raised in Georgia, she now lives in Brooklyn. She is the author of If We're Being Honest, a GMA Buzz Pick, and Humor Me.

Reviews

"I couldn't stop reading. It is phenomenal."
--Christina Lauren, New York Times bestselling author

"A deeply felt and thoughtful debut about a family thrown into chaos during a week that will change them all forever."
--Jennifer E. Smith, bestselling author of The Unsinkable Greta James

"If We're Being Honest delivers my favorite kind of family story: varying levels of hilarious dysfunction, all wrapped around a core of love. I would have gladly kept turning a hundred more pages to follow these cousins."
--Mary Laura Philpott, author of Bomb Shelter: Love, Time, and Other Explosives

"Shook's delightful and perceptive debut follows a family through an eventful week that begins with a funeral and ends with a wedding... Like a stone skipped across water, Shook flits seamlessly from one character to the next, and remarkably, all emerge as three-dimensional characters. Even with its many strands of plot, the novel never feels rushed, and Shook sprinkles some wild surprises into the goings-on. Readers will find plenty to savor."
--Publishers Weekly, STARRED Review

"In a deep-south small town in Georgia, the Williams patriarch, 82-year-old Gerry, has suddenly passed away from a heart attack. The revelations at his funeral are about to make his clan question everything they thought they knew, especially his four grandchildren, Alice, Delia, Grant, and Red. Their dynamics take center stage in this witty family drama. "
--Booklist

"An appealing, astutely observed debut about familial love and the secrets we keep."
--Kirkus

"Cat Shook's debut novel is a poignant and funny look at one family's dynamics."
--Country Living

"When Gerry dies suddenly, his far-flung family returns to Georgia to mourn their patriarch. But when his best friend reveals a shocking secret during his eulogy, it throws the clan into turmoil. Suddenly, the Williams cousins are forced to confront their own secrets while grappling with a new perspective on the man they thought they knew in this heartwarming family saga."
--Good Housekeeping

"For fans of Tracey Lange's We Are the Brennan's, Emma Straub's All Adults Here and Jonathan Tropper's This Is Where I Leave You, If We're Being Honest is about the secrets and lies we tell ourselves and others, and the power of family to get us through the very best and very worst parts of life. Pack this one in your beach bag--it's a delight."
--PureWow

"Sometimes you read a book that is so relatable you start to worry that someone has been secretly filming your family reunions. If We're Being Honest by debut author Cat Shook is that book."
--Deep South Magazine