Horrorstor

Available

Product Details

Price
$16.99  $15.80
Publisher
Quirk Books
Publish Date
Pages
240
Dimensions
7.2 X 8.7 X 0.7 inches | 1.05 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781594745263

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Grady Hendrix is an award-winning and New York Times best-selling novelist and screenwriter living in New York City. He is the author of Horrorstör, My Best Friend's Exorcism (which is being adapted into a feature film by Amazon Studios), We Sold Our Souls, The Southern Book Club's Guide to Slaying Vampires, and The Final Girl Support Group. Grady also authored the Bram Stoker Award-winning nonfiction book Paperbacks from Hell and These Fists Break Bricks: How Kung Fu Movies Swept America and Changed the World.

Reviews

"Horrorstör delivers a crisp terror-tale...[and] Hendrix strikes a nice balance between comedy and horror."--TheWashington Post

"Disarming."--The Wall Street Journal

"Wildly inventive...Hendrix delivers both a palm-sweating horror story and a laugh-out-loud satire of retail."--Esquire

"Hendrix conjures up some wonderfully gruesome imagery."--Nerdist

"An inventive, hilarious haunted house tale."--Bustle

"Hendrix's one-of-a-kind novel is an innovative hybrid of ghost story and satire, at once clever, gruesome, and hilarious."--Amazon Book Review

"If you've ever been frustrated trying to put together furniture from IKEA, you'll get a laugh out of Hendrix's spoof mystery."--New York Post

"Hendrix is an engaging writer."--Santa Fe New Mexican

"A clever little horror story...[and] a treat for fans of The Evil Dead or Zombieland, complete with affordable solutions for better living."--Kirkus Reviews

"A fun horror novel."--Library Journal

"A very clever ghost story."--Booklist

"The book's packaging as a catalog--complete with illustrations of increasingly sinister-looking furniture with faux Scandinavian names--gives it a charmingly oddball allure."--Publishers Weekly

More praise for Grady Hendrix:
"National treasure Grady Hendrix follows his classic account of a haunted IKEA-like furniture showroom, Horrorstor (2014), with a nostalgia-soaked ghost story, My Best Friend's Exorcism."--The Wall Street Journal, on My Best Friend's Exorcism

"Pure, demented delight."--The New York Times Book Review, on Paperbacks from Hell

"Terrific... Sharply written... [My Best Friend's Exorcism] makes a convincing case for [Hendrix's] powers as a sharp observer of human behavior."--The A.V. Club, on My Best Friend's Exorcism

"Hendrix's darkest novel yet will leave readers begging for an encore."--Booklist, starred review, on We Sold Our Souls

"A true appreciation of the genre."--Los Angeles Times, on Paperbacks from Hell

"Campy. Heartfelt. Horrifying."--Minnesota Public Radio, on My Best Friend's Exorcism

"Clever, heartfelt, and get-under-your-skin unnerving."--Fangoria, on My Best Friend's Exorcism

"A good, creepy, music-tinged thriller."--CNET, on We Sold Our Souls