Hollyland

Available
Product Details
Price
$17.95  $16.69
Publisher
She Writes Press
Publish Date
Pages
224
Dimensions
5.5 X 8.4 X 0.8 inches | 0.7 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781647422967

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Patricia Leavy, PhD, is an award-winning, best-selling author. She was formerly Associate Professor of Sociology, Chairperson of Sociology & Criminology, and Founding Director of Gender Studies at Stonehill College. She has published more than forty books; her work has been translated into many languages, and she has received more than forty book honors. She has also received career awards from the New England Sociological Association, the American Creativity Association, the American Educational Research Association, the International Congress of Qualitative Inquiry, and the National Art Education Association. In 2018, she was honored by the National Women's Hall of Fame and SUNY-New Paltz established the "Patricia Leavy Award for Art and Social Justice." Her website is www.patricialeavy.com. Leavy currently resides in Kennebunk, Maine.
Reviews
Featured on She Reads in "The Most Anticipated Romances of Spring 2023"
2022 Literary Titan Book Awards Silver Winner

"This quick read will leave readers satisfied with the happy ending. The main characters will make readers believe in love. Fans of Colleen Hoover and Tessa Bailey will enjoy Hollyland."
--Booklist

"Some fun secondary characters, a well-drawn setting, and an exciting eleventh-hour kidnapping plot propel Leavy's story. The author also offers rich details about Rye's Hollywood world and Dee's opinions on art . . ."
--Kirkus Reviews

". . . Leavy weaves a lot of excitement, charm, and romance into this concise and highly engrossing novel . . . the action really ramps up in the latter section of the book to offer a superb climax filled with suspense. Overall, I would not hesitate to recommend Hollyland to fans of romance and women's fiction everywhere; you will not be disappointed."
--Readers' Favorite, 5-star review

"Author Patricia Leavy does an excellent job of building up her characters in this enthralling romance novel . . . the story is alluring and enchanting. . . . Hollyland takes the opposites attract trope to a new level by creating characters that are deep and compelling against an intriguing Hollywood backdrop. This will make a perfect feel-good beach read. . . . Hollyland is a novel that left me smiling."
--Literary Titan, 4-star review

"Hollyland is a treasure. I stayed up all night reading, unwilling to put it down. What I thought would be a chick-lit romp turned out to be a delightful, romantic, inspiring story I can't stop thinking about. This book is a love letter to art, creativity, and passion. The characters come alive on the page and leave you wanting more. Leavy is a genius."
--Jessica Smartt Gullion, author of October Birds

"Hollyland is a rip-roaring ride through hilarious, romantic, and sometimes downright mysterious ups and downs. With the right amount of awe, giggles, and laugh-out-loud moments, Hollyland shines. Whether you come for the comedy or the sexy and sweet romance, Dee and those she holds dear will wrap you up in a hug and tug on your emotions from cover to cover."
--J. E. Sumerau, author of Scarecrow

"Leavy has penned a whimsical and engaging adult fairy tale that explores the search for magic or gold dust in our lives. Hollyland is an endlessly entertaining romp down the yellow brick road as the characters search for passion in all forms. Romance meets comedy meets suspense, with oodles of inspiration thrown in for good measure. This book was so captivating that I read it in one sitting, and the ending was so satisfying, I wanted to read it again."
--U. Melissa Anyiwo, editor of Gender Warriors

"Hollyland is one of the best love stories I've read. I could not put this book down. Leavy has crafted a riveting story about never settling in love or art. A light and surprisingly provocative book for smart and sassy readers. Absolutely brilliant."
--Sandra L. Faulkner, award-winning author of Real Women Run

"Leavy is a gifted author, and her voice in women's fiction is unmistakable. She brings her characteristic laser-like wit, sensitivity, and sense of optimism to this hilarious and deeply poignant tale about searching for love in Hollywood and what it truly means to live an extraordinary life. Hollyland is a romantic, fast-paced, lighthearted escape that will grab your heart and linger in surprising ways. A must-read, whether you're cozy at home, on the beach, or in your book club."
--Laurel Richardson, award-winning author of Lone Twin

"Leavy has drawn on her arts expertise and distinct voice in women's fiction to