Hestia Strikes a Match

Available
Product Details
Price
$19.00  $17.67
Publisher
Picador USA
Publish Date
Pages
400
Dimensions
4.8 X 7.7 X 1.1 inches | 0.7 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781250321817
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Christine Grillo is a writer and an editor whose short fiction has appeared in StoryQuarterly, The Southern Review, and LIT. Her nonfiction covers science, public health, food systems, agriculture, and climate change, and has been published in outlets such as The New York Times, The Atlantic: CityLab, Audubon, NextTribe, and Real Simple. Grillo earned degrees at Columbia University and The Writing Seminars at Johns Hopkins University. She lives in Baltimore, Maryland. Hestia Strikes a Match is her debut novel.
Reviews

"[Christine] Grillo's witty debut novel answers an unusual question: How does one survive a midlife crisis during a civil war? [An] imaginative tale."
--Becky Meloan, The Washington Post

"For fans of Maria Semple's Bernadette, Gail Honeyman's Eleanor Oliphant, and Helen Fielding's Bridget Jones, Hestia is just as unique, at once brutally honest, self-deprecating, and committed to forging her own path . . . Juxtaposing intellect, wit, and positivity, this pithy satire sheds an imaginative light on two things that invariably bring people together or divide them forever: love and politics."
--Anne Eliot Feldman, Washington Independent Review of Books

"[Christine Grillo's] sharp, sparkling debut is a timely reminder of what connects people even in a country tearing itself apart: the desire to love."
--Allison Cho, Booklist

"Quick-witted and big-hearted . . . [Hestia] sparkles with humor."
--Jaclyn Fulwood, Shelf Awareness

"[A] clever satire of life in a divided country . . . Bridget Jones's Diary for the post-MAGA era."
--Publishers Weekly

"[A] sharply observed and written tale."
--Kirkus Reviews

"Christine Grillo's debut novel is a wry look at our it-could-happen-here dis-Union, one that might just remind us all to take ourselves, and our arguments, less seriously. Great fun."
--Alice McDermott, author of What About the Baby?

"Warning: Do not pick up Hestia Strikes a Match without clearing your calendar. I could not put down this pitch-perfect dark comedy. I fell in love, and so will you."
--Joanna Rakoff, author of My Salinger Year

"Hestia Strikes a Match made me laugh out loud and tear up at the same time, as it combines wry satire with a moving story of how we form bonds of love and friend-ship even as the world around us is crumbling. Hestia is everything I could wish for in a character--quirky, smart, infuriating, broken, wise, and funny as hell."
--Angie Kim, author of Miracle Creek

"Astonishing. Intense. Funny. Smart. There are so many things to root for here. Will America win? Will Hestia find her match? Will the dear members of Hestia's community survive? Hestia Strikes a Match is the novel I didn't know I needed. I loved it."
--Jessica Francis Kane, author of Rules for Visiting

"Extremely wise and deeply funny, this debut gives us a riotously irreverent, effortlessly firecracking pair of Socratic dialogues: one between generations debating how to find love or whether to seek it at all, and the other between citizens trying to figure out how to save their country."
--Carlene Bauer, author of Girls They Write Songs About

"A rom-com about the ups and downs of dating, but it's set during the next American civil war in the very near future. Right?! This very funny, very sad and sweet, and very Baltimore book is about finding connection in a world where everything has been turned inside out. Sound familiar? Just read it: it's wonderful, it's relevant, it's so good."
--Amber Sparks, author of And I Do Not Forgive You