Harlem at Four

(Author) (Illustrator)
Available

Product Details

Price
$18.99  $17.66
Publisher
Random House Studio
Publish Date
Pages
48
Dimensions
9.3 X 11.7 X 0.7 inches | 1.25 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780593429334

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Dr. Michael Datcher received his B.S. from UC Berkeley and his Ph.D. from UC Riverside in English Literature. He is the author of the New York Times Bestseller Raising Fences and the critically-acclaimed Ferguson-area historical novel Americus. His book Animating Black and Brown Liberation: A Theory of American Literatures was nominated for the Pulitzer Prize. Datcher has made numerous media appearances, including Oprah, Today Show and Dateline. Dr. Michael Datcher is a Clinical Assistant Professor of Writing at New York University's School of Liberal Studies.

Frank Morrison started his journey as a graffiti artist in New Jersey, tagging walls with spray paint. It wasn't until he visited the Louvre Museum in Paris as part of the Sugar Hill Gang's dance entourage that he realized painting was his true creative path. His work has been featured at Art Basel, SCOPE Miami Beach, and Red Dot art fairs, and shown at the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture and the Mason Fine Art Gallery in Atlanta. He is the illustrator of over twenty children's books, including the Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award winner R-E-S-P-E-C-T, the Coretta Scott King-John Steptoe Award winner Jazzy Miz Mozetta, and the Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor books Little Melba and Her Big Trombone and Let the Children March. Frank was a Society of Illustrators Original Art Silver Medal Honoree two years in a row, for The Roots of Rap and R-E-S-P-E-C-T.

Reviews

"Datcher's illuminating verse, spare yet sweeping, offers readers snapshots of the community's history." --The New York Times

★ "This book is a beautiful celebration of ­Harlem's history and a loving relationship between a father and daughter." --School Library Journal, starred review

★ "This is a loving ode to Black fatherhood, art in all its forms, and a neighborhood bound together by culture and community." --The Bulletin, starred review

"Fans of Cherry and Harrison's Hair Love (also centering a father and daughter) will enjoy this love letter to a neighborhood, family, and Black history." --The Horn Book

"Datcher's affectionate lines and Morrison's luminous portraiture result in a loving past-and-present look at two Harlems." --Publishers Weekly