Gwen & Art Are Not in Love

Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$20.00  $18.60
Publisher
Wednesday Books
Publish Date
Pages
416
Dimensions
5.59 X 8.52 X 1.18 inches | 1.05 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781250847218

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Lex Croucher is the New York Times bestselling author of Reputation, Infamous, and the YA novel, Gwen & Art Are Not in Love. Lex grew up in Surrey reading a lot of books and making friends with strangers on the internet, and now lives in London.
Reviews

An Instant New York Times Bestseller!
An Instant USA Today Bestseller!
An Instant Indie Bestseller!
A November/December 2023 Kids' Indie Next Pick!

One Of Amazon's Best Books of December!

"In this frivolous medieval romp of a queer rom-com, Lex Croucher toys with Arthurian legend to delightful effect." - Entertainment Weekly

B&N Reads
, "Our Most Anticipated YA Books of November/December 2023"

Book Riot, " November 2023 Horoscopes and Book Recommendations"

Distractify, "TikTok Favorite Sequels, Fantasy Novels, and Historical Fiction for Your November 2023 TBR"

Epic Reads, "LGBTQ+ Books We Can't Wait to Read in 2023" and "The 30 Must Read Books for the Rest of 2023"

Goodreads, "2023's Most Anticipated Young Adult Books" and "45 Great New YA Historical Fiction Novels to Read in 2023"

Lambda Literary, "November's Most Anticipated LGBTQIA+ Literature"

PopSugar, "Young-Adult Books to Add to Your Reading List in November" and "All the New Books to Read This November"

The Nerd Daily, "11 Mythology Inspired Book Releases To Look Forward To In 2023"

"Croucher's simultaneously sharp and subtle prose boasts delicious banter and a propulsive story populated by intersectionally diverse characters whose interactions feel fresh and vital through the novel's climactic conclusion." - Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Lex Croucher offers readers a quirky, queer Arthurian remix in which lighthearted, entertaining banter alternates with political machinations and intense battlefield scenes." - BookPage (starred review)

"A wonderful expansion of the YA romance genre...Frankly a delight." - Kirkus

"A high-spirited medieval adventure with a modern heart." - Booklist

"Croucher has created a vibrant medieval world for their readers to fall into with funny, well-developed characters to flesh out the story, and complex royal family dynamics adding layers to the drama...Heart-warming and hilarious." - School Library Journal

"A humorous and charming ode to found family and true love, this queer YA novel is a perfect find for fans of Merlin and Alice Oseman novels." - In Between Drafts, "The Best New Books of November"

"Every time I think about this book, which has the royals-in-love (though not with each other!) vibes of Red, White & Royal Blue yet set in a distinctly A Knight's Tale-esque setting, I just grin...Every autumn should have at least one queer remixed SFF romp like this." - LitHub, " November's Best Sci-Fi and Fantasy Books"

"An enjoyable Arthurian-adjacent story with a charming cast of diverse queer characters, Gwen & Art Are Not In Love applies a modern sensibility to its historical roots...A sweet, lighthearted story about friendship and found family, with a dash of popular romance tropes on top." - Paste Magazine, "The Best New YA Books of November 2023"

"If you have an afternoon and a fireplace and a cat and a cup of something hot and any amount of fondness for a romance novel, this will surely satisfy." - XTra Magazine

"Swoonworthy, hilarious and full of witty repartee, this gorgeous historical romance will sweep readers off their feet." ― The Bookseller Teen & YA Editor's Choice

"Lex Croucher's debut young adult novel is crowned a huge success...Gwen and Art are not in Love is the perfect book to read after a long day, and can be finished all in one sitting but will leave a lasting impression." - Children's Books Ireland

"[A] fun Knight's Tale-esque medieval story that's part romantic romp, part subversive comedy, and all kinds of brilliant." - Culture Fly, "12 Must-read YA Books for Summer 2023"

"Finally... A historical rom-com that's queer as hell. And fun! Pitched as 'A Knight's Tale' meets 'Heartstopper', this medieval story has everything: sword-fighting, sharp wit and ridiculous shenanigans to warm the heart." - Gay Times, "11 LGBTQ+ Books to Read This Summer"

"Smart dialogue drives this outrageously entertaining take on the fake dating trope." - The Guardian (UK)

"A queer Knight's Tale (that should persuade you already) this rom-com has a glittering cast of adorable characters, cheeky world-building (the royalty are so obsessed with their potentially magic lineage to King Arthur that there's a court wizard) and more witty repartee than you can shake a sword at...Croucher writes with vivid exaggeration and touching relatability the wild adventures of love and lust, yearning and horniness. We all dutifully pledge allegiance."- LoveReading

"A queer medieval romp with contemporary sensibilities...Smart dialogue drives this outrageously entertaining take on the fake dating trope." ― Observer

"A total, rollicking delight. Gwen & Art gave me the same cheeky, swoony, giddy, irresistible high of the first time I saw A Knight's Tale. Lex Croucher is one of my favorite romcom authors, and they should be yours, too." - Casey McQuiston, #1 New York Times bestselling author of I Kissed Shara Wheeler

"Fun and genuinely funny, with lovely friendships and first-rate dialogue. Gwen and Art may not be in love, but I fell for both of them." - Rainbow Rowell, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Simon Snow trilogy

"Gwen & Art Are Not in Love was exactly what I needed right now--a delightful, heart-warming, hilarious historical romp, overflowing with queer panic and terrible jokes. I loved it." - Alice Oseman, New York Times bestselling author of the Heartstopper series

"Congrats to Gwen and Arthur on their permanent acquisition of my ENTIRE heart. Suffice it to say that I loved this book to a degree that's slightly ridiculous." - Becky Albertalli, New York Times bestselling author of Kate in Waiting and Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

"An utter delight. Croucher conjures a fresh new Camelot, full of jousts, hijinks and exuberantly queer characters that will make you swoon. This is the gay Camelot I always wanted!" - C.S. Pacat, New York Times bestselling author of Dark Rise

"This book does a flirty tango with the Arthurian legends while also sticking a KICK ME sign on their back: it contains enough sword fights and banter to keep the pages flying, but it's also a sharp and compassionate look at the terrifying wonder of being a queer young person coming to terms with yourself. Gwen and Art Are Not in Love is a work of hilarious and heart-mending genius. I read it in a joyous rush and I can't wait to buy it for literally everyone I know." - Freya Marske, nationally-bestselling author of A Marvellous Light

"This is the queer YA take on A Knight's Tale I've always dreamed of! A charming, witty, and completely unputdownable adventure." - Ava Reid, New York Times bestselling author of A Study in Drowning