Grief's Country: A Memoir in Pieces

Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Product Details

Wayne State University Press
Publish Date
5.4 X 8.4 X 0.6 inches | 0.5 pounds

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Gail Griffin is the author of four books of nonfiction, including The Events of October: Murder-Suicide on a Small Campus (Wayne State University Press, 2010). Her award-winning nonfiction and poetry have appeared in venues including The Missouri Review, The Southern Review, Fourth Genre, and The New Ohio Review, and anthologies including Fresh Water: Women Writing on the Great Lakes, a Michigan Notable Book.


Grief's Country is a powerful and lyrical meditation upon loss. It is also a celebration of those moments in our lives that redeem our mortality through their transient joys. Here, grief is deeply personal yet transcendently mythic, both heart-breaking and heart-mending. Griffin has written a remarkably honest, tragically beautiful memoir.-- (10/03/2019)
A fiercely honest, deeply human examination of grief's gradations, shades, nuances, and degrees, as well as its life-altering consequences. An essential book for anyone who has lost a loved one or knows someone who has.-- (10/03/2019)
In Grief's Country, Gail Griffin embraces loss by navigating grief with an open heart. Griffin shares personal tragedy with such big-hearted courage that she lifts us up with her. Those who yearn for support will find tremendous comfort here. Grief's Country is profoundly beautiful.-- (10/03/2019)
Gail Griffin's lyrical Grief's Country is a deeply considered meditation on grief, grace, and surviving the unimaginable. It's a beautiful exploration of the human condition through the lens of loss.-- (10/03/2019)