Glass Boys

Backorder (temporarily out of stock)
Product Details
Price
$18.95  $17.62
Publisher
Douglas & McIntyre
Publish Date
Pages
291
Dimensions
5.4 X 0.9 X 8.4 inches | 0.9 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781553657972
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Nicole Lundrigan is the author of three critically acclaimed novels: "Unravelling Arva," "Thaw" and "The Seary Line." Her lit-er-ary fiction has been selected as a top ten pick by "The Globe and Mail," was long-listed for the Relit Award, and given honorable men-tion for the Sun-burst Award. She grew up in Upper Gul-lies, Newfoundland and now lives in Ontario with her family.
Reviews
"Lundrigan's authorial voice is adept and fluid ...Readers who enjoy Annie Proulx and Kent Haruf will find similar themes in Lundrigan's work. A pitch-perfect novel with a writing style that shifts as easily as the characters' moods, Glass Boys is a triumph."--"Booklist"

"Glass Boys deftly walks the line between light and dark, hope and fear, rewarding the reader every step of the way with dazzling honesty and truth."--Ami McKay, Author of "The Birth House"

"Glass Boys, will...catapult Lundrigan into the spotlight...Her writing is so enthralling, and the story so full of suspense and interest, that there is a temptation to allow the pages to fly by when they really should be savoured..."--"Quill and Quire"

"Glass Boys is a dark story and it carries a consistently weighty tone, yet the novel is laced with enough funny and tender moments between characters to spare it from being heavy or maudlin. ...Lundrigan's a great Newfoundland novelist everyone in the country should know"--"National Post"

"Lundrigan is a generous writer, able to colour with many shades of grey, and tenderly allowing character to be a work in progress...By the end of Glass Boys, a delicate study of despair and yearning, Lundrigan's kindness and skill have led us to hope that (almost) every character -- bad, good or ambiguous -- feels safe enough to stay."--"Globe and Mail"

"Through the darkness, Lundigran tenderly creates moments of hope for her characters ...[they] are fully alive--nuanced and flawed--drawing readers into their plight in this rich, evocative novel."—"Publishers Weekly"

"Lundrigan's authorial voice is adept and fluid ...Readers who enjoy Annie Proulx and Kent Haruf will find similar themes in Lundrigan's work. A pitch-perfect novel with a writing style that shifts as easily as the characters' moods, Glass Boys is a triumph."--"Booklist"

"Glass Boys deftly walks the line between light and dark, hope and fear, rewarding the reader every step of the way with dazzling honesty and truth."--Ami McKay, Author of "The Birth House"

"Glass Boys, will...catapult Lundrigan into the spotlight...Her writing is so enthralling, and the story so full of suspense and interest, that there is a temptation to allow the pages to fly by when they really should be savoured..."--"Quill and Quire"

"Glass Boys is a dark story and it carries a consistently weighty tone, yet the novel is laced with enough funny and tender moments between characters to spare it from being heavy or maudlin. ...Lundrigan's a great Newfoundland novelist everyone in the country should know"--"National Post"

"Lundrigan is a generous writer, able to colour with many shades of grey, and tenderly allowing character to be a work in progress...By the end of Glass Boys, a delicate study of despair and yearning, Lundrigan's kindness and skill have led us to hope that (almost) every character -- bad, good or ambiguous -- feels safe enough to stay."--"Globe and Mail"