Girls in Peril: A Novella

Backorder
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$10.95  $10.18
Publisher
Tin House Books
Publish Date
Pages
150
Dimensions
5.3 X 0.51 X 7.2 inches | 0.38 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780977312726
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Karen Lee Boren grew up on the South Side of Milwaukee, Wisconsin, as part of a large family of six children. Her fiction has appeared in journals and anthologies, including the "Florida Review, Night Train, Karamu, Hawaii Pacific Review, Dominion Review, Yemassee, " and "Epoch." Her nonfiction has appeared in "Cream City Review" and the Lonely Planet anthology "Rite of Passage: Tales of Backpacking 'Round Europe." She currently lives in Providence, Rhode Island, where she teaches literature and creative writing at Rhode Island College. She holds a BA and a PhD in English from the Univeristy of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.
Reviews
"The dreamy plural voice that tells this story evokes, perfect pitch, the collective comingled self of American female adolescence. In suburban summer boredom, Boren's girls endear and endanger themselves, playing games with deadly consequences. " -Antonya Nelson, author of "Female Trouble""In the vein of Margaret Atwood's Cat's Eye or Jeffrey Eugenides' Virgin Suicides, here's a coming-of-age story with a little extra-a feel for the innocent omniscience of children, a stealing sense of dread, and (not least) a mysterious, fetishized third thumb. Boren's tale glows with the luminous hyperreality of nostalgia, without the rosy sentimentality that usually entails." -Peter Ho Davies, author of "Equal Love""Karen Lee Boren's novella beautifully differentiates itself by taking us inside that little-known tribe we call girlhood. Who can resist the restless energy, the strength, and the wholeness of these hard-worked midwestern daughters before they individuate into women in this perilous world? Not this reader. I love these girls." -Cathleen Calbert, author of "Bad Judgment""The collective voice that drives Karen Lee Boren's first novel is rapturous and steely-eyed at once, and this book beautifully captures the gestures and sensations-huge, tiny, exquisite, and excruciating-of her girls in peril. One is left elated by the power of this story, and marveling at Boren's skill." -Sam Lipsyte, author of "Home Land""