Fight Back

(Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$21.95  $20.41
Publisher
Tu Books
Publish Date
Pages
384
Dimensions
5.29 X 7.8 X 1.21 inches | 1.01 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781643795881

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

A. M. Dassu is the internationally acclaimed author of Boy, Everywhere, an ALA Notable Book which was also nominated for the Carnegie Medal and shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize. She won the We Need Diverse Books mentorship award in 2017 and serves on the Advisory Board of SCBWI-British Isles' Words & Pictures magazine. She is a director at Inclusive Minds, an organization for people who are passionate about inclusion, diversity, equality, and accessibility in children's literature. She lives in the heart of England, and you can find her on Twitter as @a_reflective, on Instagram as @a.m.dassu, or at amdassu.com.

Daby Zainab Faidhi is a versatile artist and illustrator acclaimed for her impactful work in animation, illustration, art direction, and painting. Her portfolio features contributions to award-winning film projects, including The Breadwinner, and most recently, co-art directing Merry Little Batman for WarnerBros. Explore her dynamic creations at zainabfaidhi.com.

Reviews

"This book--with its celebration of girl power, a main character who forces readers to question religious stereotypes, and a timely message about the importance of coming together as a community to Fight Back against prejudice--deserves a place on every library shelf." -- Padma Venkatraman, Walter Award Winning Author of The Bridge Home

"Powerful. . . will show readers they are not alone when facing racism and hate and that standing together in support of one another provides hope for the future." -- Booklist

"The attention-grabbing writing style and intensifying pace suit the storyline, and characters develop in plausible ways. Hope is interjected into the serious tone as Black, Jewish, and Chinese classmates, among others, share their experiences and help Aaliyah and her friends take action against racism and xenophobia. This group of committed friends will win readers' hearts." -- Kirkus Reviews

"This fearless, compelling story of trauma, solidarity and testing which rules are made to be broken is perfect for fans of Patrice Lawrence and Muhammad Khan." -- The Guardian

Jane Addams Children's Book Award Finalist 2022 - Jane Addams Peace Association