Farewell Cuba, Mi Isla

Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$17.99  $16.73
Publisher
Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books
Publish Date
Pages
336
Dimensions
5.67 X 8.35 X 1.18 inches | 0.9 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781534495401

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Alexandra Diaz is the award-winning author of The Only Road, The Crossroads, Santiago's Road Home, and Farewell Cuba, Mi Isla. The Only Road was a Pura Belpré Honor Book and won the Américas Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature, as well as numerous other accolades. Santiago's Road Home was an International Latino Book Award gold medalist and an ALA Notable Children's Book. Farewell Cuba, Mi Isla was a Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year, received the Teacher's Favorites Award from the Children's Book Council, and received starred reviews from Kirkus Reviews and School Library Journal. Alexandra is the daughter of Cuban refugees and a native Spanish speaker. She lives in Santa Fe, New Mexico, but got her master's in writing for young people at Bath Spa University in England. Visit her at Alexandra-Diaz.com.
Reviews
"This is a moving, poignant read." --Booklist
"Inspired by her own family's experiences, Diaz delivers a well-researched story that serves as a compassionate introduction to this underdiscussed part of American and Cuban history."--Publishers Weekly "9/18/23"
* "Heartfelt and beautifully written, this middle grade novel is perfect for fans of Margarita Engle and of impactful historical fiction."--School Library Journal, STARRED REVIEW
* "Readers will be able to relate to the coming-of-age elements while learning about an important and difficult part of Cuba's history. An evocative and transportive read." --Kirkus Reviews, STARRED REVIEW
"Diaz does not shy away from addressing intertwined issues of the time period, including school integration, Cold War anti-Russian prejudice, and racial and gender dynamics within the family. The book's ending... allows for a happy, hopeful reunion in Miami with Jackie's parents and baby brother and the girls' grandmother."--The Horn Book