Falling Awake: Poems


Product Details

$15.95  $14.83
W. W. Norton & Company
Publish Date
5.6 X 0.4 X 8.1 inches | 0.3 pounds

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Alice Oswald is the author of eight books of poetry, including Memorial and Falling Awake, winner of the Costa Poetry Award and Griffin Poetry Prize. Elected as the University of Oxford Professor of Poetry in 2019, she lives in Bristol, United Kingdom.


[Oswald] writes a poetry of the natural world saturated with myth. A long poem about the dawn, 'Tithonus, ' may be the most beautiful work I read all year.--Dan Chiasson "Best Books of Poetry from 2016 "
After having exhausted language once, Oswald has returned to exhaust it again, her own voice speaking over the corpses of the world's ever-present erosion...and challenging herself and her readers to conceptualize what new shape can come when the last reiterated 'whip of sparks' in the world and its many spheres has 'gone, ' and then gone again.
[These] poems have a distinctive clarity of phrase, line, and shape, as if they came out of a trance of waking attention.
Alice Oswald's poems are vivid and distinct, alert and deeply, physically engaged in the natural world.
Stunning.... If there's any justice in the poetry world, the title [Poet Laureate] should be offered to this gardener-classicist who is bringing the British landscape to life in poetry again.
You won't experience the full effect of Alice Oswald's poetry unless you read her words aloud--she writes with a mind for sounds, syllables, and the patters of speech, informed and inspired by oral storytelling traditions.
[A] modern classic.--Book of the Year
A liminal text.... Unmistakably original.--Book of the Year