Emily Wilde's Encyclopaedia of Faeries

Available

Product Details

Price
$28.00  $26.04
Publisher
Del Rey Books
Publish Date
Pages
336
Dimensions
5.7 X 8.4 X 1.1 inches | 0.88 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780593500132

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Heather Fawcett is the author of the middle-grade novels Ember and the Ice Dragons, The Language of Ghosts, and The School Between Winter and Fairyland, as well as the young adult series Even the Darkest Stars. She has a master's degree in English literature and has worked as an archaeologist, photographer, technical writer, and backstage assistant for a Shakespearean theater festival. She lives on Vancouver Island.

Reviews

"Emily herself is delightful, brilliant but flawed, and often darkly funny. Her frustration with her feckless but charming colleague Wendell Bambleby is the perfect spark, and the romance is light but hits surprisingly hard when it chooses to."--The New York Times

"A book so vividly, endlessly enchanting . . . It pushed the real world aside in the way of all truly great fantasy novels, and I'm jealous of everyone who gets to read it for the first time."--Melissa Albert, The New York Times bestselling author of the Hazel Wood series

"Forget dark academia: Give me instead this kind of winter-sunshined, sharp-tongued, and footnoted academia, full of field trips and grumpy romance and malevolent faeries. Emily Wilde is a narrator I won't forget in a hurry, and this book was an invigorating balm for my heart and mind."--Freya Marske, author of A Marvellous Light

"A whimsical and enchanting romp that had me quite literally laughing out loud on every page. I enjoyed every word of this gorgeously written fairy tale featuring a grumpy heroine and an utterly charming love interest who constantly surprised me. A new favorite!"--Isabel Ibañez, author of Woven in Moonlight

"Emily Wilde's Encyclopaedia of Faeries charmed me more than any faerie king ever could. Take an imaginative world that perfectly balances the mundane with the fantastical, add the pitch-perfect voice of an intelligent and endearingly unsociable heroine, throw in an indolent yet adorable academic rival with a hidden agenda, and you have the ideal book to curl up with on a chilly winter's evening. This book is an absolute delight."--Megan Bannen, author of The Undertaking of Hart and Mercy

"Enchanting in every sense of the word, Emily Wilde's Encyclopaedia of Faeries is a delight of snow-laden forests and changelings, folklore and faerie kings, meticulous footnotes and academic rivalry and adventure. This book is real magic."--H. G. Parry, author of The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep

"Emily Wilde's Encyclopaedia of Faeries is a charmingly whimsical delight, saturated with faerie magic and the equally wonderful magic of humanity. This is going to be one of my regular rereads. Five dazzling, gladdening stars."--India Holton, author of The Wisteria Society of Lady Scoundrels

"Fawcett grabs readers' attention by drawing them into the folklore as well as the surrounding world. A great read for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Erin Morgenstern."--Library Journal (starred review)

"The full cast of characters, well-developed faerie lore, and pervasive sense of cold add depth to the delightful proceedings, which include scholarship, yes, but also danger and a hint of romance. Emily is an Amelia Peabody in snowshoes, and readers will be utterly charmed."--Booklist (starred review)

"Full of awe-inspiring shows of power and striking moments of humanity . . . Follow the lights into the woods and dance with the fae under Emily's careful guidance--just be sure not to get carried away."--BookPage