Emergency Powers: An Imogen Trager Novel

Available

Product Details

Price
$15.99  $14.87
Publisher
Faithless Elector
Publish Date
Pages
312
Dimensions
5.5 X 8.5 X 0.65 inches | 0.8 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780999137727

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

James McCrone is the author of the Faithless Elector series-Faithless Elector, Dark Network, and Emergency Powers-"taut" and "gripping" political thrillers about a stolen presidency. For this latest book, Bastard Verdict, set amidst a second Scottish referendum on independence, he drew on his boyhood in Scotland. His short stories have appeared in Rock and a Hard Place; Retreats from Oblivion: The Journal of NoirCon, and in the short-story anthology Low Down Dirty Vote, vols. 2 and 3. He's a member of MWA, Int'l Assoc. of Crime Writers, Philadelphia Dramatists' Center and he's the vice-president of the Delaware Valley Sisters in Crime chapter. A Pacific Northwest native (mostly), he lives in South Philadelphia with his wife and three children.James has an MFA from the University of Washington. He's also continuing work on a next book, a gritty thriller set in rural Oregon, called Witness Tree.

Reviews

"McCrone's research and political insight are an intriguing backdrop to this tale...Great for fans of Brad Meltzer, David Baldacci." - PUBLISHERS WEEKLY


"McCrone excels in crafting the unexpected, not just for Imogen but in the lives and deaths of those surrounding her."

- DIANE DONOVAN, Midwest Book Review


FBI Agent Imogen Trager is "a memorable protagonist-as tough as she is smart. Emergency Powers "has a highly cinematic quality to it, with plenty of action along the way." -KIRKUS REVIEW


"Three tough female characters that steal the show: FBI agents Vega, Sartain, and Trager...These strong women shoulder much of the burden in this novel and deserve a large credit in why it succeeds."

-T. LIEBERMAN, Independent Book Review


"The depth and breadth of research needed to create the believable political and law enforcement scenarios is a testament to McCrone's craftsmanship. The seamless writing doesn't distract from the flow...and readers will enjoy discovering the strengths and flaws of good guys and bad guys alike." -KATE ROBINSON, US Review of Books


"Highly recommended for fans of intelligent thrillers revolving around politics. The writing style is crisp and straightforward, keeping the pace moving swiftly. The mystery is tautly plotted from the first page to the last."- PEN & INK REVIEWS