Embassy of the Dead

(Author) (Illustrator)
Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$16.99  $15.80
Publisher
Walker Books Us
Publish Date
Pages
272
Dimensions
5.8 X 8.5 X 1.0 inches | 1.0 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781536210477

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Will Mabbitt writes. He writes in libraries, in cafes, on the toilet, and sometimes, when his laptop runs out of power, he writes in his head. Before he got paid to do this, he worked in London and spent a lot of time stuck on the train--which is where he wrote his first book, The Unlikely Adventures of Mabel Jones. Will Mabbitt lives with his family somewhere on the south coast of England.
Reviews
This series opener is delightfully spooky, complemented by scratchy black-and-white illustrations...A creepy romp.
--Kirkus Reviews

The story is earnest, spooky, and cheerfully bleak. Those with a taste for dark tales will certainly enjoy following Jake on his gothic adventure.
--The Horn Book

Knight's interspersed illustrations provide flavor and occasional spooks (her illustration of the terrifying bonewulf is particularly chilling), but her red-nosed, round-cheeked characters add whimsy and a fairy-tale flair that keep this macabre tale from creeping into too-scary territory. Perfect for fans of The Graveyard Book (BCCB 10/08) looking for slightly sillier fare, this is sure to be a Halloween hit, with ghouls and boys eagerly awaiting the rest of the promised series.
--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

While clearly replete with ghouls and ghasts of all stripes, this British import is creepy but never too scary, and packed with laughs. Occasional excerpts from ghostly guide The Book of the Dead catalog different types of spirits, and enticingly expand the world of this series-starter for curious readers. ­­Recommend for readers looking for a quick-paced, just-spooky-enough romp.
--School Library Journal