Dreadful

Backorder (temporarily out of stock)
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$17.99  $16.73
Publisher
Titan Books (UK)
Publish Date
Pages
352
Dimensions
4.9 X 7.8 X 1.0 inches | 0.65 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781803365473

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Caitlin Rozakis has had too many career changes, including mechanical engineering (cut short after the murderous robot incident), finance (amortizing tequila receivables is not as fun as drinking tequila), and the American Museum of Natural History (who knew emus had birth certificates?). Now she specializes in tech marketing and lives in Jersey City with her husband and son. Her short fiction has been featured in multiple anthologies and publications including Cast of Wonders, Aurealis, Daily Science Fiction, Weirdbook, and Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine. She was nominated for a Pushcart Prize and won LUMINA's 2018 Speculative Fiction contest. Dreadful is her first novel. Visit her online at www.caitlinrozakis.com.
Reviews
"Don't let its title fool you. Caitlin Rozakis' novel, Dreadful, is an absolute delight, perfect for fans of TJ Klune and Travis Baldree."
Polygon

"This feel-good fantasy is charming and so entertaining."
IGN

"Excellent comedic timing and [a] keen ability to keep readers guessing. This clever, high-energy fantasy is a delight."
Publishers Weekly

"An absolutely magnificent comedic fantasy with a hint of bite. This book was a witty, empathetic, and genuinely funny meditation on the nature of good and evil. It was easily one of the best books I've read this year."
Olivia Atwater

"Dreadful is pure fun. Caitlin Rozakis delivers a (loving) send up of classic fantasy tropes alongside a compelling redemption story and plenty of quirky humour. The Dread Lord Gavrax (or Gav, as his memoryless alter ego prefers) is a fantastic character, alternately chilling and sympathetic, and readers will also love the cast of seemingly stock fantasy characters with endearing hidden depths. Highly recommended."
Heather Fawcett, bestselling author of Emily Wilde's Encyclopaedia of Faeries

"It was very kind of Caitlin Rozakis to write this book for me. Sure, the rest of you should like it too, but it was clearly written for me, with all the elements I love: fun and humor, breaking fantasy tropes, interesting and complex questions about identity and redemption, and some delightful goblins!" -Jim C. Hines, author of Goblin Quest

"A spellbinding (literally) massacre of all our favourite tropes, underscored with a pleasing dry wit."
Tom Holt

"Caitlin Rozakis cleverly takes the tropes of a fantasy story and upends them in creative and entertaining ways, freshening the genre."
Robert Greenberger, Editor, Thrilling Adventure Yarns

"With a unique and razor-sharp voice, Rozakis cleverly flips the script on your typical swords-and-sorcery fantasy in Dreadful, with a bumbling dark wizard, a grumpy kidnapped princess, and a crew of smarter-than-they-seem sycophants and goblins who actually run the place. Magic and adventure meet absurdity in a tale that turns tropes on their heads while delivering unexpected twists, clever banter, and irreverent humor. Readers will tear through this quick-witted and fast-paced novel and search eagerly for Rozakis's next creation."
Mary Fan

"Outrageously funny and self aware, Dreadful is perfect for fans of The Princess Bride. Rozakis blends wit and whimsy with a deft hand in this charming debut that had me laughing with every page-turn. A vital addition to the cozy fantasy genre"
Rosiee Thor, author of Tarnished are the Stars

"Caitlin Rozakis's debut novel, Dreadful, is an absolute delight. Her characters, from the conflicted Gav to the supporting cast, are fully realized and believable beings within their fantastical world. The plot is fast-paced and by turns funny, horrifying, and utterly relatable. I didn't want it to end, even as I kept reading "just one more page" because I couldn't wait to find out what happened next."
Hildy Silverman

"Rozakis has conjured a spellbinding debut that is just what it seems to be: clever, whimsical, and a little spicy." -- E.C. Myers, Nebula Award-winning author

"Dreadful is magnificent! Fun, funny, and brilliantly insightful, this book is such a joy! I absolutely loved every second of it!" - Sarah Beth Durst, award-winning author of The Bone Maker

"It's rare to find a book where you don't know who to root for . . . because you like so many characters, even some of the "evil" ones! Dreadful is funny and sweet and scary by turns, and a ton of fun all the way through. But my money's still on the squid."
Aaron Rosenberg, author of Yeti Left Home and many others

"With its charming cast and unique mixture of slapstick and sincerity, Dreadful is a heart-warmingly earnest story about how to grow into a better person." - BookPage Starred Review

"Not unlike a Pratchett-esque slice of absurdist screwball comedy fantasy, Dreadful is chock-full of likeable characters, intriguing plot developments, and a compassionate heart."
Set the Tape