Down Comes the Night

Available

Product Details

Price
$18.99  $17.66
Publisher
Wednesday Books
Publish Date
Pages
400
Dimensions
6.1 X 9.4 X 1.4 inches | 1.25 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781250623638

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Allison Saft was born in a Philadelphia blizzard and has been chasing the sun ever since. After receiving her MA in English Literature from Tulane University, she moved from the Gulf Coast to the West Coast, where she spends her time hiking the redwoods and practicing aerial silks. Down Comes the Night is her debut novel.

Reviews

BOOKRIOT, "Get Cozy With These Winter 2021 YA Books For Your TBR"

BUZZFEED, "25 LGBTQ+ YA Books You'll Want To Curl Up With This Winter"

CULTURESS, "12 must-read sci-fi and fantasy book releases to escape with this March"

FROLIC, "The Top 12 YA Books Hitting Shelves in March"

GOODREADS, "56 of the Most Anticipated Young Adult Books of 2021"

MEDIUM
, "The Most Exciting Reads of Winter/Spring 2021"

UNITED BY POP, "30+ Must Read March 2021 YA Book Releases"

"Debut author Saft has crafted an intricate world that's figured out down to the details of each character. A choice addition to any collection where Sarah J. Maas and Leigh Bardugo rule. " - Booklist

"The Gothic atmosphere includes echoing, candlelit halls; a secret passage; and explosive secrets....readers who love slow-burn romances will find much to enjoy. A promising debut." - Kirkus

"Saft interweaves intrigue, romance, and magic to fashion a slow-burning and atmospheric fantasy debut." - Publishers Weekly

"Fans of Leigh Bardugo's "Grisha Trilogy" and Marie Rutkoski's "Winner's Trilogy" have been waiting for this Darkling-esque romance...Those who pick up Saft's debut will be richly rewarded on all counts--intricately woven characters, beautiful prose, and darkness around every corner make this fantasy a first purchase." - School Library Journal (Starred Review)

"This gorgeous book definitely has that 'must...keep...reading' power (I read it in one sitting!)." - Buzzfeed, "40 YA Fantasy Books We're Highly Anticipating In 2021"

"Down Comes the Night is lush, eerie, and feels like something fresh within this genre. A tale of politics and war wrapped around an enemies-turned-maybe-something-more romance and all set inside a crumbling mansion full of deadly secrets all combine to create something truly unique" - Culturess

"The building tension and blossoming romance add to the thrill and soon you're flying through the pages of this book dying to find out what answer behind the murders happening at the Colwick estate.... would definitely recommend this story if you're looking for something atmospheric and ultimately romantic." - The Nerd Daily

"From the setting (an isolated and crumbling hall) to the characters (two sworn enemies who need each other survive) and the tension both inside the hall and out, this was an enormous debut. Eerie, thrilling, and intense, this book has ensured I will read everything Allison Saft writes." - The Young Folks, "Best 5 Debuts of 2021"

"Complex, carefully rendered, and utterly addictive, Down Comes the Night is a YA fantasy classic in the making. Saft seamlessly blends an utterly original magic system, multifaceted main characters, and forbidden romance into a gothic narrative that will stay with you long after the last page." - Christine Lynn Herman, author of The Devouring Gray

"Down Comes the Night is a twisty dark ride through a gothic world that'll keep you up all night. Saft has crafted a deeply romantic tale with fresh magic and mystery on every page, and filled with an arresting cast. An engrossing, haunting, and beautiful addition to the YA shelf." - Isabel Ibañez, author of Woven in Moonlight

"I adored Allison Saft's complex world and engaging heroine. Wren navigates a war-torn country as a healer, wielding her compassion and wit as deftly as her magic. Atmospheric, romantic, and just a touch eerie--this is the kind of story I love to get lost in." - Emily Lloyd-Jones, author of The Bone Houses