Doppelgangbanger

Available
Product Details
Price
$16.00  $14.88
Publisher
Haymarket Books
Publish Date
Pages
100
Dimensions
5.9 X 8.9 X 0.4 inches | 0.35 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781642592658

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author

Cortney Lamar Charleston is a Cave Canem fellow from the Chicago suburbs. His debut collection, Telepathologies, won the 2016 Saturnalia Books Poetry Prize, selected by D.A. Powell. He began writing and performing poetry as a member of The Excelano Project when he was an undergraduate studying economics and urban studies at the University of Pennsylvania. His poetry is a marriage between art and activism, and a call for a more involved and empathetic understanding of the diversity of the human experience. In 2017, Charleston was a recipient of the Ruth Lilly and Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Fellowship from the Poetry Foundation. He currently serves as poetry editor at The Rumpus.

Reviews

With stunning knowledge and sharp vulnerability, Cortney Lamar Charleston has rendered a classical epic of love, war, and self-discovery, in the tradition of Milton, Homer, and Virgil if they were Bone Thugs-n-Harmony.

--Morgan Parker, author of Magical Negro

"Cortney Lamar Charleston burns his signature into these stanzas. With an unrelenting intimacy, he dares us into a narrative we think we know--Black boy vs. the scheming wiles of the city vs. the rest of his life--then backhand slaps us toward a singular experience marked by choices that can only guide the life of one man."

--Patricia Smith, author of Incendiary Art

"Cortney Lamar Charleston is one of our most necessary observers of Black boyhood in all its beauty and difficulty. These poems sing to us of us."

--Nate Marshall, author of Finna