Discordant

Available

Product Details

Price
$16.95  $15.76
Publisher
Autumn House Press
Publish Date
Pages
100
Dimensions
5.58 X 8.53 X 0.1 inches | 0.38 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781637680735
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Richard Hamilton was born in 1975 and grew up in Elizabeth, New Jersey, and Columbus, Georgia. Their first book, Rest of Us, was published by Recenter Press in Philadelphia. A Cave Canem alumnus, their poetry has appeared in CONSEQUENCE magazine, Steel Toe Review, and Rigorous Magazine, among others. They live in Washington, DC.

Reviews

"The poems of Discordant will haunt you--like a tune that orients your ear to what you weren't attuned to, like a cut that slices through the noisy distractions of the day. Hamilton is chopping up language, rewriting the score on poetic forms, and dissecting our racist-capitalist society at the same time, mixing and mingling the discourses of philosophy, culture, politics, healthcare, labor, and love, until we remember they all occupy and describe the same world. I'm grateful for this piercing, necessary voice."--Evie Shockley, author of "suddenly we"
"Discordant is a clarion call. A genius voyage through the late-twentieth and twenty-first-century American wasteland laid from the fallout of war. A testimony from the forgotten spaces of addiction, poverty, and racism. A dispatch from the shadows of the civil rights movement, where promises that quelled uprisings are daily disintegrating. In the tradition of James Baldwin and Fred Hampton, this poet is fearless in his words. Few understand how to make language unsettle and disrupt as Hamilton does. In so many ways, this book is 'an essay against forgetting wars, the personal and the political, ' as he writes in his powerful and brilliant long hybrid poem 'Object.' The poems are gorgeous. They are also startling, haunting, and gritty. To my mind, this book is a game changer."--francine j. harris, author of "Here is the Sweet Hand"
"In his new, trenchant collection Discordant, Hamilton brings the fire where and when it is needed, writing poems that startle in their originality, playfulness, and sociopolitical depth and gravitas. If the best poetry provides a way to see the with new, engaged eyes, Discordant does so in poem after poem, and reminds us that Hamilton, an invaluable voice in contemporary Black queer poetry, is one of the freshest and most committed poets writing today."--John Keene, author of "Punks: New and Selected Poems"