Dark and Shallow Lies

Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$17.99  $16.73
Publisher
Razorbill
Publish Date
Pages
432
Dimensions
5.83 X 8.43 X 1.57 inches | 1.2 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780593403969

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Ginny Myers Sain lives in Tulsa, Oklahoma, and has spent the past twenty years working closely with teens as a director and acting instructor in a program designed for high school students seriously intent on pursuing a career in the professional theatre. Having grown up in deeply rural America, she is interested in telling stories about resilient kids who come of age in remote settings. Dark and Shallow Lies is her debut novel. Follow her on Twitter @stageandpage and on Instagram @ginnymyerssain, or find her on her website at ginnymyerssain.com.
Reviews
* "Dreamy prose conjures a mythical Southern Gothic atmosphere, mixing violence with a Byronic characterization of Elora's stepbrother Hart. Taut pacing builds sustained terror on the page with each successive suspect in this formidable debut." --Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Murky waters, hidden gators, and nasty cottonmouths match the setting to its darkly unsettling story....Fans of Brenna Yovanoff's Fiendish or Natalie C. Parker's Beware the Wild will find this atmospheric thriller deeply satisfying." -BCCB

"A darkly atmospheric mystery set in the bayous of Louisiana."-- School Library Journal

"Haunting and arresting, this is one stunning debut. Ginny Myers Sain has written a totally engrossing small-town mystery about what happens when you finally dig up long-buried secrets." --Jessica Goodman, New York Times bestselling author of They'll Never Catch Us

"Don't even try to resist--Ginny Myers Sain will lure you into the spellbinding world of the deep Louisiana bayou with this riveting missing girl mystery populated by a bewitching cast of characters; spun to life in lush, atmospheric prose; and teeming with a dark mythology that is part folklore, part psychic mysticism, and entirely compelling." --Kit Frick, author of I Killed Zoe Spanos

"Enchanting and chilling at once, you'll instantly get sucked into this atmospheric tale of kindred spirits brimming with secrets that could tear them apart. Ginny Myers Sain's haunting, lush, lyrical prose will keep you captivated till the end." --Diana Urban, author of All Your Twisted Secrets