Catherine House

Backorder (temporarily out of stock)
1 other format in stock!
Product Details
Price
$29.99  $27.89
Publisher
Harper Large Print
Publish Date
Pages
448
Dimensions
5.9 X 9.0 X 1.0 inches | 0.8 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780062999146

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author

Elisabeth Thomas grew up in Brooklyn, New York, where she still lives and now writes. She graduated from Yale University and currently works as an archivist for a modern art museum. This is her first novel.

Reviews

"There are shades of Edgar Allan Poe and Alfred Hitchcock as suspense builds in the winding corridors of the house and the twisting turns of the psyche. Moody and evocative as a fever dream, Catherine House is the sort of book that wraps itself around your brain, drawing you closer with each hypnotic step." -- The Washington Post

"Calling all The Secret History fans! This debut novel is set within the walls of an exclusive private college, but with a twist: Students seclude themselves for three years, completely removed from their previous lives." -- Entertainment Weekly, Stay Home and Read These 20 New May Books

"This dark, speculative thriller . . . [is] an electrifying update on gothic horror, evoking haunting institutional imagery and weaving in 'psychosexual' experimentation and power imbalances." -- Buzzfeed, 29 Summer Books You Won't Be Able to Put Down

"This haunting thriller is filled with unexpected twists and shocking suspense." -- Today.com, Emma Straub Has 5 Books to Read if You Loved All Adults Here

"The strength of this debut novel relies on its refusal to adhere to any sort of genre conventions . . . The book's setting provides just as much fodder for thought and discussion as do its characters or plot. . . . While the book is easy to read--Thomas's smart prose ensures that--the echoes of discomfort linger long after the last pages are turned." -- The Boston Globe

"Elisabeth Thomas is a magician of a writer who expertly blends a deeply atmospheric boarding-school story with a futuristic sci-fi mystery in Catherine House. A grown-up, sophisticated version of Lois Duncan's Down a Dark Hall, this dazzling debut will have you turning the pages late into the night." -- Angie Kim, bestselling author of Miracle Creek

"Elisabeth Thomas had me mesmerized from the first page. Dreamy and brimming with dread, Catherine House will swallow you whole." -- Rory Power, New York Times bestselling author of Wilder Girls

"With this astonishing debut, Elisabeth Thomas has conjured an immersive, intoxicating world that left me as reluctant as its characters were to leave it behind. I inhaled the novel in a single, glorious weekend, but Catherine House and its denizens will linger with me for a very long time." -- Robin Wasserman, New York Times bestselling author of Girls on Fire

"Catherine House is a novel that lingers long after the final page. It's a haunting, mesmerizing debut--a modern gothic tale that is both profoundly moving and eerily disturbing. Thomas's novel makes us question our ability to forgive, to accommodate our mistakes and those of others, and the possibility of ever truly finding a place that feels like home." -- Ivy Pochoda, award-winning author of Wonder Valley and Visitation Street

"For fans of Donna Tartt's The Secret History and Kazuo Ishiguro's Never Let Me Go, Catherine House is a haunting, atmospheric reflection on the discovery of self and others. At times terrifying, always gorgeously captivating, Thomas' debut is one not to be missed, and perhaps to be revisited frequently." -- Booklist (starred review)

"Elisabeth Thomas's debut novel weaves a thrilling, compact story that builds dread slowly. . . . Thomas incorporates elements of science fiction as she begins to reveal the darkness at work on campus, but not before readers are eased in with some classic hallmarks of prep-school fiction." -- The Atlantic