Cakewalk

Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Product Details

Price
$16.00
Publisher
Bantam
Publish Date
Pages
336
Dimensions
5.1 X 0.8 X 7.9 inches | 0.55 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780553392678
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Rita Mae Brown is the bestselling author of the Sneaky Pie Brown series; the Sister Jane series; the Runnymede novels, including Six of One and Cakewalk; A Nose for Justice and Murder Unleashed; Rubyfruit Jungle; and In Her Day, as well as fifty-six other books. An Emmy-nominated screenwriter and a poet, Brown lives in Afton, Virginia, and is a Master of Foxhounds.

Reviews

"[Cakewalk] is brimming over with [Rita Mae Brown's] distinctive Southern voice that infuses every page with merriment, which allows her vibrant characters to take over the story and touch readers' hearts. Her depictions of the inhabitants and the era are pitch-perfect as are the many subplots. Readers will feel as if they are living in Runnymede; running around with the teenagers, eavesdropping on the matrons planning the annual cakewalk and hiding in the closet of the wealthy families. An utterly delightful story."--RT Book Reviews

"Brown has said that the Runnymede novels, starting with Six of One, are the ones she was born to write. . . . This is more loving domestic comedy of small-town life when times were simpler. Recommended for fans of Brown and beyond."--Library Journal

"A delightful romp through small-town America, with all of its gossips and laughs, passions and rivalries, and through it all the importance of the thread of family."--Historical Novels Review

"A feel-good novel told by an expert storyteller who delights in creating colorful and quirky characters."--Shelf Awareness

"Two independent and free-thinking sisters, Louise and Julia Hunsenmeir (called Wheezie and Juts), push against the old-fashioned ways of drinking, dancing, and courting. . . . Characters were inspired by Brown's own mother and sister, adding realism and depth to this uplifting story. Fans of Amy Hill Heath and Mary Kay Andrews will eat up this multigenerational 'slice-of-life' novel."--Booklist

"There seems to be no end to [Rita Mae Brown's] imagination, inventiveness, or storytelling artistry. . . . What is [Cakewalk] about? Life, love, baseball, war, peace, good whiskey, fashion, sex, religion, friendship-all in a rollicking and lively story that just keeps rolling along at a brisk pace. Ms. Brown paints such vivid scenes. . . . [Cakewalk is] entertaining, outrageous, thought-provoking, nostalgic, and great fun."--My Merri Way

Praise for Rita Mae Brown's Runnymede novels

Six of One

"Joyous, passionate and funny."--The Washington Post Book World

"No matter how quirky or devilish, Brown's people cavort in an atmosphere of tenderness. . . . It is refreshing to encounter this celebration of human energy."--Chicago Sun-Times

Bingo

"Genuinely funny."--Los Angeles Times

"Vividly drawn characters . . . and tart, loving humor."--Self

Loose Lips

"Surprises . . . come from Rita Mae Brown's comic timing and her affection for eccentrics."--The Seattle Times

"[Brown] does an admirable job of portraying the effects World War II has on one small American town."--The Arizona Republic