Brave in the Woods

Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Product Details

Price
$16.99  $15.80
Publisher
G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Publish Date
Pages
256
Dimensions
5.4 X 8.3 X 1.0 inches | 0.85 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781984813992

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Tracy Holczer is the author of the critically acclaimed novel The Secret Hum of a Daisy and Everything Else in the Universe. She has a deep love for the mountains where she grew up, the lakes and rivers that crisscrossed her childhood, so she writes them into her stories. Tracy Holczer currently lives in Southern California with her family and a variety of cats.

Reviews

Praise for Brave in the Woods

A 2022-2023 Camellia Children's Choice Book Award Nominee (AL)

★ "This is a beautiful tale of love and grief, friendship and family, and of hope. . . Give this to readers who loved Ali Benjamin's The Thing About Jellyfish and Kate Allen's The Line Tender. . . Holczer's use of humor, thoughtful imagery, and magical realism elements makes this a wholly unique blend of modern fairy tale, hero's quest, and coming-of-age story. A suggested purchase for all middle grade collections." --School Library Journal, starred review

"Holczer's clear, gentle prose allows the emotional and descriptive elements of the text to shine in this multilayered road-trip story . . . A thoughtful exploration of grief, family lore, and human connection." --Kirkus Reviews

"By turns heartbreaking and humorous, this is a story that hints at the possibility of magic while remaining rooted in real-world problems and relationships. There is love and hope amid the grief and confusion, just as the Grimm tales contain both wonders and horrors in their own right. A heartfelt lesson on the power of love and the tales we tell ourselves." --Booklist

"Holczer has crafted another heartrending story of familial loss, grief, and healing. . . The imagery-rich text . . . [and] well-developed secondary characters help readers better understand Juni and the relationships she cherishes, while supporting her journey toward accepting the truth and finally letting go." --The Horn Book

Praise for Everything Else in the Universe
A South Carolina Junior Book Award Nominee - 2020-2021
An ILA Teachers' Choices Reading List - 2019
A Charlotte Huck Honoree - 2019

★"A resonant historical novel and a thoughtful exploration of how war and injury affect family, friendships, and individual growth." --Publishers Weekly, starred review

"The novel introduces a nuanced view of the Vietnam War to readers...This is a quiet, tender work of historical fiction about grief, love, and learning to let go...A worthy addition to any middle grade collection." --School Library Journal

"Heartbreakingly poignant...the portrait of two children maturing with grace and tolerance is triumphant." --Horn Book Magazine

Praise for The Secret Hum of a Daisy
A Summer 2014 Kids' Indie Next Pick!

★ "A lovely and captivating debut . . . Holczer writes with depth, heart, and a poetic lilt . . . nuanced characters engage from beginning to end."--Publishers Weekly, starred review

★ "Holczer expertly crafts the characters and dialogue to create a story readers will identify with, and thoroughly enjoy... More than simply a book about grief and the death of a parent, Grace's story is about the search for identity. An essential purchase for middle-grade collections."--School Library Journal, starred review