Beyond the Ruby Veil

Available
Product Details
Price
$10.99  $10.22
Publisher
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publish Date
Pages
304
Dimensions
5.5 X 8.2 X 0.9 inches | 0.55 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780759557703

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Mara Fitzgerald writes YA fantasy about unlikable female characters who ruin everything. She is a biologist by day and spends entirely too much time looking at insects under a microscope. She was born near Disney World and now lives near Graceland, which is almost as good. Beyond the Ruby Veil is her debut novel.
Reviews
"Perfect for fans of Holly Black's The Cruel Prince and Emily A. Duncan's Wicked Saints...a must-purchase for YA collections."--School Library Journal
"A fast-paced debut that reaches spectacularly bloody heights."--Kirkus
"Fitzgerald populates her story with fierce women who rule cities and seek glory."--Booklist
"Wicked sharp and queer as hell, Mara Fitzgerald's Beyond the Ruby Veil takes you on a breathless ride through a world of blood magic and terrifying secrets, with writing as vicious, provocative, and darkly witty as anti-heroine Emanuela herself."--Nina Varela, author of the Crier's War duology
"With a plot just as intelligent, ruthless, and unpredictable as its heroine, Beyond the Ruby Veil is a YA fantasy debut that will leave readers demanding the sequel."--Christine Lynn Herman, author of The Devouring Gray duology
"Beyond the Ruby Veil explores the themes of power, ambition, and the thin line between hero and villain in one of the most ingenious fantasy worlds I've seen in YA. Emanuela is both darkly funny and utterly terrifying, and I was compelled to follow her until the bitter, bloodthirsty end."--Julie C. Dao, author of The Rise of the Empress duology
"Like its singular heroine, Beyond the Ruby Veil demands every bit of your attention. A dark, vicious gem you won't be able to put down."--Katy Rose Pool, author of Morris Award finalist There Will Come A Darkness
"Beyond the Ruby Veil is a wild ride of a debut, with a heroine you can't help but root for and a world you can't help but fear. You'll be kept guessing what will happen next and delighted by Fitzgerald's mind."--Tara Sim, author of the Scavenge the Stars duology
"With prose as ruthless and unflinching as its main character, Beyond the Ruby Veil is a bloody story of ambitious girls and the people who can't help but worship them. Fitzgerald brings a fresh new voice to the fantasy genre, a talent to keep your eye on."--Isabel Sterling, author of the These Witches Don't Burn series