Bernard Pepperlin

(Author) (Illustrator)
Backorder (temporarily out of stock)
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$16.99  $15.80
Publisher
HarperCollins
Publish Date
Pages
224
Dimensions
5.9 X 7.4 X 0.8 inches | 0.6 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062865441

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author

Cara Hoffman is the author of three New York Times Editors' Choice novels; the most recent, Running, was named a Best Book of the Year by Esquire Magazine. She first received national attention in 2011 with the publication of So Much Pretty which sparked a national dialogue on violence and retribution, and was named a Best Novel of the Year by the New York Times Book Review. Her second novel, Be Safe I Love You was nominated for a Folio Prize, named one of the Five Best Modern War Novels, and awarded a Sundance Global Filmmaking Award. A MacDowell Fellow and an Edward Albee Fellow, she has lectured at Oxford University's Rhodes Global Scholars Symposium and at the Renewing the Anarchist Tradition Conference. Her work has appeared in the New York Times, Paris Review, BOMB, Bookforum, Rolling Stone, Daily Beast, and on NPR. A founding editor of the Anarchist Review of Books, and part of the Athens Workshop collective, she lives in Athens, Greece with her partner.

Olga Demidova studied traditional applied arts and animation in Moscow and spent years working in animation before illustrating children's books. She always tries to stay positive and see happy little things in everyday life that will encourage those who see her drawings.
Reviews

"Hoffman deftly creates a compellingly different kind of Wonderland, a place with its own set of realities and whose residents understand that, in spite of their differences, they are stronger together than apart. Everything a fantasy should be and more." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"A quirky flight of fancy with a rich lineage." -- Publishers Weekly

"Hoffman cleverly mingles familiar themes and tropes from Carroll's famous novel with wry humor. A great read-alike for fans of Roald Dahl, E.B. White, and Katherine Applegate." -- School Library Journal

"Bernard and his newfound friends--revolutionary rats, wise-cracking cats, and coffee-chugging squirrels, to name a few--will delight and inspire readers of all ages. New York City will never be the same again!" -- Erin Entrada Kelly, Newbery Medal-winning author of Hello Universe

"What do you get when you put one lost little mouse into a big city filled with singing cockroaches, hungry falcons, magic teapots, and conniving weasels? An utterly charming, delightful tale of bravery and friendship!" -- Bobbie Pyron, award-winning author of A Pup Called Trouble

"Bernard Pepperlin sparkles! Small animals--human and otherwise--will be inspired by Cara Hoffman's charming middle grade debut." -- Sherri L. Smith, author of The Toymaker's Apprentice