Beirut Station: Two Lives of a Spy: A Novel

(Author)
Available
Product Details
Price
$27.95  $25.99
Publisher
Pegasus Crime
Publish Date
Pages
304
Dimensions
6.3 X 9.1 X 1.3 inches | 1.0 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781639365111

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Paul Vidich is the acclaimed author of The Matchmaker, The Mercenary, The Coldest Warrior, An Honorable Man, and The Good Assassin. His fiction and nonfiction have appeared in the Wall Street Journal, LitHub, CrimeReads, Fugue, The Nation, Narrative Magazine, and Wordriot. He lives in New York City.
Reviews
Praise for The Matchmaker:

A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice
"Shades of Graham Greene, Eric Ambler and John le Carré hover over the pages of Paul Vidich's The Matchmaker, a Cold War thriller set in West and East Berlin in the eventful years of 1989 and '90. The innovative Mr. Vidich subverts expectations in ways that surprise."--Tom Nolan "The Wall Street Journal"
"There is a casual elegance to Vidich's spy fiction, a seeming effortlessness that belies his superior craftsmanship. Every plot point, character motivation and turn of phrase veers toward the understated, but they are never underwritten. The Matchmaker is an ideal entrance into Vidich's work, one that should compel new readers to plumb his backlist."--Sarah Weinman "The New York Times Book Review"
"Vidich adds a welcome feminist twist to the familiar espionage theme of human lives trapped in the vice of competing and equally ruthless governments. From An Honorable Man (2016) through The Mercenary (2021), Vidich has established his position in the forefront of contemporary espionage novelists."-- "Booklist
"This taut, nuanced spy thriller centered on Lebanese American CIA agent Analise Assad further establishes Vidich as a new master of the genre. Vidich ably describes daily life in a war-torn setting and convincingly highlights the dangers Analise faces as a woman in her position. He brings the action to a satisfying conclusion. Fans of Eric Ambler, Graham Greene, and John le Carré will be eager for more."--Publishers Weekly
"There is plenty of death to avenge in this tense, fast-moving novel."--Kirkus Reviews
"Vidich's oeuvre already solidifies his place in the genre. Readers unfamiliar with his work will be dazzled by his vision."--Peter Handel, CrimeReads
"Extraordinary. A compelling spy novel set during the Israeli invasion of Lebanon."--Mal Warwick, Malwarwickonbooks.com
"This well-plotted thriller deftly mixes spy craft with questions about identity and justice."--The Christian Science Monitor, Top 10 Books of October
"First and foremost it's a compelling story, one that gripped me from start to finish, but it also awakened in me a dormant interest in the complex politics of the Middle East."--Mystery and Suspense Magazine
"Beirut Station is a perfectly executed fictionalized snapshot of a time when the Middle East was in the news for all the wrong reasons. Paul Vidich has created a story worthy of Le Carré and Graham Greene."--Authorlink