Beasts and Children

(Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$17.99
Publisher
Harper Perennial
Publish Date
Pages
320
Dimensions
5.2 X 7.9 X 0.9 inches | 0.5 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780544370135

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

AMY PARKER is a graduate of the Iowa Writers' Workshop and Indiana University; she was also a Michener Fellow at the University of Texas, Austin. She spent her childhood overseas among the diplomatic corps and is ordained in the Soto Zen monastic lineage.

Reviews

A New York Times Editors' Choice Named a "Best Book of 2016" by the St. Louis Post-Dispatch "Parker's prose is precise and vital, at points breathtaking. She has a marvelous knack for swift characterization... The stories are most moving when Parker's emotionally astute eye stays focused on the human dramas...No one is safe, Parker reminds us, especially within the family circle--but one's chosen family can also offer salvation...Parker's own care is evident in the pages of Beasts and Children. The stories, like the mounted heads in the Bowman's trophy room, rivet the gaze, demand that readers reorganize themselves in those glassy eyes--and then become disconcertingly alive."--Kirstin Valdez Quade, New York Times Book Review "Parker's knife-edge debut collection ingeniously links the fates of three clans--the dynastic Texas Bowmans, the striving Colombian American Guzmans, and the worldly Fosters - through the intimately observed lives of the young progeny (and pets) on whom the families' messy and magical legacies are not lost."--Elle Magazine "An electrifying, daring, and magical debut collection sure to appeal to fans of Karen Russell and Lorrie Moore."--Booklist, starred "[Beasts and Children is] an unflinching and vivid debut, both witty and relentlessly brutal, and an incredible book...Parker's stories are arrestingly, uniquely bizarre. Rather than kitsch or quirky, they're instead strange verging on macabre. The surreal and the extraordinary elements of Parker's stories -- often manifesting in the collection's menagerie of animals -- are curious details that give the stories a dream-like tone or serve as symbols of cruel nature for human and beast alike."--St. Louis Post-Dispatch "A beautiful book, filled with stories that are powerful as individual pieces and abidingly heartrending when taken together. Beasts and Children is an exceptional debut."--The Gazette "This riveting collection executes a grim autopsy on American family life."--Kirkus "With her hauntingly perceptive and deeply honest voice, Amy Parker transports readers into the astonishing and often calamitous minds of children. Beasts and Children is a dazzling debut to be celebrated." --Ruth Ozeki, author of A Tale for the Time Being, My Year of Meats, and others "Reading Beasts and Children, I was struck not only by Amy Parker's incisive and skillfully crafted sentences but by the depth and integrity with which she treats every one of her characters. A beautiful and engaging debut." --Molly Antopol, author of The Unamericans "Parker's debut collection of interwoven short stories is stunning. At first glance the stories merely examine the inner lives of pedestrian middle class families; then slip in dark and subversive twists. Parker wryly observes each character, fiercely independent and yet reliant on and at the mercy of the natural web of human life that supports and sustains us. Parker's skillful and beautiful use of language, coupled with her capacity to shock makes this book a page turner." --Mia Wigmore, Diesel Bookstore in Brentwood "It isn't --